Welsh Open Snooker Finals

QUIZ! Welsh Open Snooker Finals

This year will mark the 30th final since the event was launched in 1992.

Most of the biggest and most recognisable snooker names of the last thirty years have featured in Welsh Open finals.

An event that began 29 years ago, it now stands as the third-longest running ranking event on the calendar.

Only the World Snooker Championship and the UK Championship have been a permanent fixture on the schedule for more years, in addition to the invitational Masters.

More than half of the Welsh Open snooker finals have taken place in Newport; between 1992 and 1998, and again from 2005 to 2014, the competition was staged at the Newport Centre.

Cardiff briefly hosted the tournament either side of the Millennium between 1999 and 2004, and the capital city was once again the permanent home from 2015 up until last year.

The Motorpoint Arena was replaced for the 2021 edition by the Celtic Manor Resort, and that is where this year’s champion will be crowned.

The event has been won by 15 players in total with the majority hailing from either England or Scotland.

Eight competitors have emerged victorious on more than one occasion, with five triumphs currently standing as the current overall record.

All 29 Welsh Open finals have been contested over the best of 17 frames, and eight of those have lasted the full distance – including four in five seasons between 2004 and 2008.

As part of the Home Nations series since 2017, the contenders now compete each year for the beautiful Ray Reardon Trophy.

There have been 25 different Welsh Open finalists so the question is, can you name them all?

Click here if you can’t see the quiz.

Featured photo credit: WST


Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.