Snooker Shoot Out champion
Main News, Ranking

Snooker Shoot Out Champion to Be Crowned on Sunday

There are 32 players vying to become the 2022 Snooker Shoot Out champion at the Morningside Arena in Leicester on Sunday.

Four competitors from the top 16 in the world rankings are still in contention, including reigning world champion Mark Selby, Mark Williams, Mark Allen, and Stuart Bingham.

Three from that quartet have come close before, with Selby reaching the final last year and Allen and Bingham finishing as the runner-up in 2013 and 2014 respectively.

No current member from the elite bracket has ever triumphed in the unpredictable and controversial ranking event that incorporates shot clocks in single-frame encounters.

With a cheque worth £50,000 on offer for the Snooker Shoot Out champion, there is a huge opportunity for those lower down the rankings list to make an impression.

Michael Holt, Nigel Bond, and Michael Georgiou understand what it takes to go all the way, representing the remaining former winners in the draw.

The latter is, in fact, one of six amateurs who could yet emerge with the trophy, with Georgiou in action against another of those amateurs in the last 32, Kuldesh Johal.

All five remaining rounds will take place throughout Sunday’s action, with live coverage on Eurosport in the UK and Ireland.

Snooker Shoot Out Last 32

Matches to be played on Sunday, January 23

Jak Jones vs Mark Allen (1pm)
Ian Burns vs Mitchell Mann (est. 1:15pm)
Simon Blackwell vs Andrew Higginson (est. 1:30pm)
Aaron Hill vs Mark Williams (est. 1:45pm)

Allan Taylor vs Hossein Vafaei (est. 2pm)
Dean Young vs Michael Holt (est. 2:15pm)
Liam Highfield vs Daniel Womersley (est. 2:30pm)
Matthew Selt vs Ali Carter (est. 2:45pm)

Oliver Lines vs Stuart Bingham (est. 3pm)
Duane Jones vs Steven Hallworth (est. 3:15pm)
Lukas Kleckers vs Billy Castle (est. 3:30pm)
Michael Georgiou vs Kuldesh Johal (est. 3:45pm)

Ken Doherty vs Chris Wakelin (est. 4pm)
Nigel Bond vs Jamie Clarke (est. 4:15pm)
Liang Wenbo vs Sanderson Lam (est. 4:30pm)
Robbie Williams vs Mark Selby (est. 4:45pm)

The remaining rounds will take place from 7pm.

Featured photo credit: WST


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.