Michael White
Main News, Ranking

Michael White dominates Group 10 of CLS

Michael White progressed from Stage 1 of Championship League Snooker with a 100% record on Wednesday in Leicester.

The Welshman got his day off to a positive start at the Morningside Arena with a 3-1 victory over Himanshu Jain in Group 10.

White then defeated tour rookie Jiang Jun by the same margin to ensure that his fate was in his own hands heading into the last round-robin encounters.

Facing countryman Ryan Day, the 31 year-old knew that a draw would prove to be enough to see him reach the last 32.

But White secured his passage through to the next phase of the competition in style with a third consecutive 3-1 victory.

A two-time former ranking event winner, Michael White is competing on the second year of his current tour card and will be hoping for a strong season in his effort to break back inside the top 64 in the world rankings.

Meanwhile, Robbie Williams advanced from Group 22 thanks to an undefeated run of two wins and one draw.

Williams tied his first game with Zak Surety but enjoyed success in the remaining two fixtures, with 3-1 scorelines over Alfie Davies and Joe O’Connor helping the Englishman through.

Daniel Wells, Ashley Carty, Martin O’Donnell and Snooker Shoot Out champion Chris Wakelin reached the last 32 of the ranking event earlier this week.

Two more groups from Stage 1 of Championship League Snooker will take place on Thursday.

Former champion Kyren Wilson launches his 2023/24 snooker season against Louis Heathcote, Andy Hicks, and Josh Mulholland in Group 5.

Thailand’s Thepchaiya Un-Nooh fronts Group 29 alongside Elliot Slessor, Victor Sarkis, and Florian Nuessle.

Stage 1 draw

Group 1 (July 10)Group 2 (July 11)Group 3 (June 26)Group 4 (July 12)
Ronnie O’SullivanJudd TrumpCraig SteadmanShaun Murphy
Scott DonaldsonXu SiSean McAllisterTian Pengfei
Rod LawlerJimmy WhiteAdam DuffyLukas Kleckers
Alfie BurdenReanne EvansAshley CartyAndrew Pagett
Group 5 (June 29)Group 6 (June 30)Group 7 (July 6)Group 8 (July 7)
Kyren WilsonMark WilliamsAli CarterRobert Milkins
Andy HicksDylan EmeryJackson PageDominic Dale
Asjad IqbalKen DohertyLong ZehuangMuhammad Asif
Louis HeathcoteThor Chuan LeongRyan DaviesAlex Taubman
Group 9 (July 14)Group 10 (June 28)Group 11 (June 27)Group 12 (July 12)
Gary WilsonRyan DayHossein VafaeiBarry Hawkins
John AstleyMichael WhiteAaron HillZhang Anda
Mink NutcharutHimanshu JainMartin O’DonnellSanderson Lam
Ma HailongJiang JunFergal QuinnJamie O’Neill
Group 13 (July 13)Group 14 (July 14)Group 15 (July 4)Group 16 (July 3)
David GilbertRicky WaldenStuart BinghamJimmy Robertson
Yuan SijunDavid LilleyMatthew StevensBen Woollaston
Sean O’SullivanPeng YisongAllan TaylorLiam Graham
Ishpreet SinghLiu HongyuDuane JonesPeter Lines
Group 17 (July 5)Group 18 (July 11)Group 19 (July 10)Group 20 (July 8)
Zhou YuelongJoe PerryNoppon SaengkhamMatthew Selt
Ashley HugillJamie ClarkeMark DavisJames Cahill
Oliver BrownAndy LeeJenson KendrickAndres Petrov
TBCStuart CarringtonRoss MuirSydney Wilson
Group 21 (June 27)Group 22 (June 28)Group 23 (July 7)Group 24 (July 6)
Chris WakelinJoe O’ConnorFan ZhengyiPang Junxu
Oliver LinesRobbie WilliamsSam CraigieWu Yize
Anton KazakovZak SuretyFergal O’BrienHammad Miah
Liam PullenAlfie DaviesAhmed Aly ElsayedStan Moody
Group 25 (July 8)Group 26 (July 5)Group 27 (June 30)Group 28 (July 4)
Si JiahuiJak JonesJordan BrownAnthony Hamilton
Mark JoyceJamie JonesJulien LeclercqBen Mertens
Mohamed IbrahimRebecca KennaMarco FuRyan Thomerson
Haydon PinheyDean YoungBarry PinchesXing Zihao
Group 29 (June 29)Group 30 (June 26)Group 31 (July 13)Group 32 (July 3)
Thepchaiya Un-NoohGraeme DottCao YupengXiao Guodong
Elliot SlessorDavid GraceLyu HaotianMartin Gould
Victor SarkisDaniel WellsIan BurnsAlexander Ursenbacher
Florian NuessleAndrew HigginsonSteven HallworthRory McLeod

Featured photo credit: WST

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.