Main News, Ranking

O’Sullivan fires maximum 147 break but loses qualifier

Sean O’Sullivan compiled his first professional 147 break in the European Masters qualifiers on Friday in Leicester.

The Englishman produced the perfect break of 15 reds, 15 blacks, and the six colours in the sixth frame of his contest with Barry Hawkins.

It’s the first time O’Sullivan has managed the 147 feat in a competitive situation on the World Snooker Tour, and it marks the first of the 2023/24 season overall.

On and off the circuit since 2012, O’Sullivan has never broken into the top 64 in the world rankings but stands to earn a £5,000 bonus for the high break prize.

However, it unfortunately proved to be the 29 year-old’s last contribution to the match as Hawkins won the following frame to secure a 5-2 victory.

It was a good day for the higher-profile names in general, with Mark Williams, Ali Carter, and David Gilbert each progressing to the venue stages as well.

Williams, who narrowly missed out on triumphing in the campaign-opening Championship League last week after losing in the final to Shaun Murphy, thrashed Zhang Anda 5-0.

Carter ousted amateur Alfie Davies 5-2 while Gilbert overcame Oliver Lines 5-3 to set up a clash against Reanne Evans in Nuremberg next month.

Elsewhere, former Welsh Open champion Jordan Brown defeated Ma Hailong and Tom Ford emerged unscathed against Victor Sarkis.

Chris Wakelin, the Snooker Shoot Out winner from earlier this year, beat Thor Chuan Leong 5-2 while India’s Ishpreet Singh scored a similar win against Ryan Thomerson.

Among the others to advance in the second ranking event of the new term were Scott Donaldson, Robbie Williams, and Ashley Hugill.

Towards midnight, Anthony Hamilton took the last two frames to pip Matthew Selt in a 5-4 thriller.

On Saturday, the European Masters qualifiers conclude with the eight remaining fixtures at the Morningside Arena.

Stuart Bingham, Hossein Vafaei, and Marco Fu are a few of the more familiar faces taking part.

Live coverage will be available on discovery+ in Europe and Matchroom.Live in other territories (other than China).

The venue stage of the tournament takes place from August 22nd to 27th.

European Masters qualifiers schedule

Tuesday, July 25th

Aaron Hill 5-4 Jimmy White
Yuan Sijun 4-5 Jamie Jones
Asjad Iqbal 0-5 Thepchaiya Un-Nooh
Sydney Wilson 1-5 Xiao Guodong

Liam Graham 1-5 Duane Jones
Jak Jones 2-5 Michael White
Noppon Saengkham 5-2 Ian Burns
Ryan Day 3-5 Zak Surety

John Higgins 5-1 Martin Gould
Joe Perry 5-0 Muhammad Asif
Oliver Brown 5-4 Liam Pullen
Stan Moody 4-5 Elliot Slessor

Wednesday, July 26th

Andrew Higginson 5-3 Cao Yupeng
Zhou Yuelong 5-1 Stuart Carrington
Andres Petrov 2-5 Daniel Wells
Pang Junxu 5-1 Mink Nutcharut

Si Jiahui 5-2 Julien Leclercq
Robert Milkins 3-5 Ben Woollaston
Matthew Stevens 5-3 Iulian Boiko
Andrew Pagett 1-5 Jiang Jun

Ken Doherty 5-4 David Lilley
Anthony McGill 2-5 Dominic Dale
Ricky Walden 5-3 Lukas Kleckers
Martin O’Donnell 2-5 Ashley Carty

Thursday, July 27th

He Guoqiang 0-5 Ross Muir
Louis Heathcote 5-2 Andy Lee
Ahmed Aly Elsayed 1-5 Mark Davis
James Cahill 5-0 Baipat Siripaporn

Allan Taylor 5-2 Tian Pengfei
Reanne Evans 5-4 Jenson Kendrick
Hammad Miah 1-5 Liu Hongyu
Jimmy Robertson 5-1 Himanshu Jain

Haydon Pinhey 4-5 Alfie Burden
Jack Lisowski 5-3 Sam Craigie
Gary Wilson 4-5 Ben Mertens
Sanderson Lam 5-3 Mark Joyce

Friday, July 28th

Ma Hailong 2-5 Jordan Brown
Chris Wakelin 5-2 Thor Chuan Leong
Tom Ford 5-1 Victor Sarkis
Long Zehuang 1-5 Ashley Hugill

Mark Williams 5-0 Zhang Anda
Barry Hawkins 5-2 Sean O’Sullivan
Robbie Williams 5-3 John Astley
Ryan Thomerson 2-5 Ishpreet Singh

David Gilbert 5-3 Oliver Lines
Ali Carter 5-2 Alfie Davies
Matthew Selt 4-5 Anthony Hamilton
David Grace 3-5 Scott Donaldson

Saturday, July 29th

Barry Pinches vs Dylan Emery
Xu Si vs Alexander Ursenbacher
Joe O’Connor vs Rebecca Kenna
Xing Zihao vs Peng Yisong

Hossein Vafaei vs Rod Lawler
Fan Zhengyi vs Lyu Haotian
Stuart Bingham vs Jamie Clarke
Adam Duffy vs Marco Fu

Heldover matches

Tuesday, August 22nd

Kyren Wilson vs Dean Young
Luca Brecel vs Jackson Page
Ronnie O’Sullivan vs Andy Hicks
Mark Allen vs Anton Kazakov
Mark Selby vs Manasawin Phetmalaikul
Judd Trump vs Mohamed Ibrahim
Neil Robertson vs Wu Yize
Shaun Murphy vs Graeme Dott

Featured photo credit: WST

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.