Long Zehuang
Ranking, Snooker Headlines

Long Zehuang and Stuart Carrington move on

Long Zehuang dominated Group 19 as Championship League Snooker continued on Saturday in Leicester.

The 27 year-old Chinese competitor won all three of his round-robin fixtures to sit pretty at the top of his league table.

Long, who turned professional a year ago and reached the last 16 of the Snooker Shoot Out, started his account off with a 3-1 defeat of Lei Peifan.

He subsequently repeated the same scoreline two more times, scoring breaks of 98, 78, 68, and 60 in seeing off amateur top-ups Alfie Davies and Jamie O’Neill.

Long was joined in the last 32 by Stuart Carrington, who also went undefeated during the day’s play in Group 20.

The Englishman got off to a nice opening at the Mattioli Arena by securing a 3-1 triumph over Gong Chenzhi with a break of 107 in the fourth frame.

Carrington then overcame Gerard Greene with a whitewash display before his crunch tie came against the group’s highest seed Pang Junxu.

Pang had accumulated four points by this stage having only managed a draw against Greene.

The young player from China needed to beat Carrington to progress and the situation looked tight when the pair shared the opening two frames.

But Pang’s fate was sealed when Carrington duly won the third frame to safeguard the single point he required to reach Stage Two.

The 2024/25 snooker season’s first ranking tournament takes a break on Sunday before resuming with more Stage One action on Monday.

John Higgins is set to make his first appearance of the new campaign in Group 9 against Ma Hailong, Ben Mertens, and Artemijs Zizins.

In Group 6, meanwhile, Gary Wilson faces Joe Perry, Michael Holt, and Huang Jianbo.

Saturday, June 22nd – Results

Group 19
1. Jamie O’Neill 2-2 Alfie Davies
2. Long Zehuang 3-1 Lei Peifan
3. Long Zehuang 3-1 Alfie Davies
4. Lei Peifan 3-0 Jamie O’Neill
5. Alfie Davies 3-1 Lei Peifan
6. Long Zehuang 3-1 Jamie O’Neill

Group 20
1. Pang Junxu 2-2 Gerard Greene
2. Stuart Carrington 3-1 Gong Chenzhi
3. Stuart Carrington 3-0 Gerard Greene
4. Pang Junxu 3-1 Gong Chenzhi
5. Gong Chenzhi 3-1 Gerard Greene
6. Pang Junxu 2-2 Stuart Carrington

Championship League Snooker
Stage One Draw

Group 1Group 2Group 3Group 4
Scott DonaldsonHe GuoqiangShaun MurphyMark Williams
Kyren WilsonMitchell MannSteven HallworthConnor Benzey
Daniel WomersleyRonnie O’SullivanTian PengfeiDavid Grace
Baipat SiripapornKayden BrierleyReanne EvansFergal Quinn
Group 5Group 6Group 7Group 8
Ali CarterGary WilsonRobbie McGuiganJak Jones
Xing ZihaoJoe PerryBarry PinchesJordan Brown
Joshua ThomandMichael HoltSanderson LamAntoni Kowalski
Kreishh GurbaxaniHuang JiahaoTom FordBulcsú Révész
Group 9Group 10Group 11Group 12
Ma HailongJackson PageRyan DayJack Lisowski
Ben MertensAndrew HigginsonLiam DaviesMark Davis
John HigginsRobert MilkinsHammad MiahJiang Jun
Artemijs ZizinsIulian BoikoMarco FuAnton Kazakov
Group 13Group 14Group 15Group 16
Si JiahuiHossein VafaeiDavid GilbertFan Zhengyi
Peter LinesLouis HeathcoteXu SiAlfie Burden
Zak SuretyJoshua MulhollandDuane JonesMink Nutcharut
Jimmy RobertsonManasawin PhetmalaikulAndrew PagettZhou Yuelong
Group 17Group 18Group 19Group 20
Chris WakelinStuart BinghamLong ZehuangStuart Carrington
Ian BurnsHamim HussainAlfie DaviesPang Junxu
Rory McLeodAnthony HamiltonLei PeifanGong Chenzhi
Liam PullenAhmed Aly ElsayedJamie O’NeillGerard Greene
Group 21Group 22Group 23Group 24
Neil RobertsonJoe O’ConnorMichael WhiteMartin O’Donnell
Cheung Ka WaiAaron HillRyan DaviesRicky Walden
Jamie ClarkeHarvey ChandlerStephen MaguireRory Thor
Zack RichardsonOliver LinesDean YoungUmut Dikme
Group 25Group 26Group 27Group 28
Matthew StevensAlexander UrsenbacherDavid LilleyWu Yize
Farakh AjaibMatthew SeltYuan SijunRoss Muir
Robbie WilliamsGraeme DottLiam GrahamAllan Taylor
Haydon PinheyFlorian NuesslePaul DeavilleJoshua Cooper
Group 29Group 30Group 31Group 32
Ben WoollastonJamie JonesAshley CartyThepchaiya Un-Nooh
Stan MoodyIshpreet Singh ChadhaElliot SlessorDaniel Wells
Dominic DaleChris TottenSimon BlackwellMark Joyce
Dylan EmeryLiu HongyuMostafa DorghamJulien Leclercq

Stage Two

Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
Scott DonaldsonDavid GilbertLong ZehuangMark Williams
Fan ZhengyiStuart BinghamHossein VafeaiBen Woollaston
Thepchaiya Un-NoohHe GuoqiangShaun MurphyStuart Carrington
Chris WakelinAshley CartyJamie JonesSi Jiahui
Group EGroup FGroup GGroup H
Ali CarterDavid LilleyJackson PageMartin O’Donnell
Wu YizeGary WilsonAlexander UrsenbacherJak Jones
Jack LisowskiRyan DayRobbie McGuiganMatthew Stevens
Neil RobertsonJoe O’ConnorMichael WhiteMa Hailong

Stage Three

Final Group 1Final Group 2
Ali CarterJackson Page
Scott DonaldsonDavid Gilbert
Mark WilliamsLong Zehuang
Martin O’DonnellDavid Lilley

Final (bo5)

Ali Carter 3-1 Jackson Page

Featured photo credit: WPBSA

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.