Ronnie O'Sullivan
Ranking, Snooker Headlines

Ronnie O’Sullivan dumped out of Championship League Snooker

Ronnie O’Sullivan didn’t get his 2024/25 snooker season off to the best start, failing to advance from Group 2 of Championship League Snooker on Tuesday.

The Rocket had been the pre-tournament favourite with the bookies, but he could only finish third in his four-player league table.

A rapid 3-0 victory over amateur top-up Kayden Brierley, where O’Sullivan compiled breaks of 72 and a brace of 53s, appeared to set him on his way.

But the reigning UK and Masters champion could only manage a 2-2 draw with Mitchell Mann, which meant that he needed a positive result from his remaining fixture of the day.

That didn’t materialise, with He Guoqiang producing a fine display and contributions of 80, 77, and 57 helping the Chinese cueist to a 3-0 victory at O’Sullivan’s expense.

It was a strong turnaround from He following his initial defeat to Mann, and having then beaten Brierley 3-0, the 23 year-old’s record of two wins and a loss proved to be enough to see him move through.

In a close finish, Mann could have ended in first had he beaten Brierley, but the Englishman lost the last frame and disappointingly had to settle for a draw.

In Group 12, Jack Lisowski topped the standings with an undefeated stretch of games at the Mattioli Arena in Leicester.

Still bidding for a maiden ranking title, Lisowski reached the last 32 of this competition with the aid of a pair of victories over Anton Kazakov and Jiang Jun.

The Englishman needed a single point from his last match against Mark Davis, and that’s exactly what he got as he won the opening two frames to guarantee his progress.

The penultimate day of a lengthy Stage One in Championship League Snooker takes place on Wednesday, meanwhile.

Ali Carter stars in Group 5, with the Captain set to face Xing Zihao, tour rookie Kreishh Gurbaxani, and amateur Joshua Thomand.

In Group 16, Chinese pair Zhou Yuelong and Fan Zhengyi will battle for first alongside Alfie Burden and Mink Nutcharut.

Tuesday, June 25th – Results

Group 2
1. Ronnie O’Sullivan 3-0 Kayden Brierley
2. Mitchell Mann 3-1 He Guoqiang
3. He Guoqiang 3-0 Kayden Brierley
4. Ronnie O’Sullivan 2-2 Mitchell Mann
5. Mitchell Mann 2-2 Kayden Brierley
6. He Guoqiang 3-0 Ronnie O’Sullivan

Group 12
1. Jack Lisowski 3-0 Anton Kazakov
2. Mark Davis 2-2 Jiang Jun
3. Mark Davis 3-1 Anton Kazakov
4. Jack Lisowski 3-1 Jiang Jun
5. Jiang Jun 2-2 Anton Kazakov
6. Jack Lisowski 2-2 Mark Davis

Championship League Snooker
Stage One Draw

Group 1Group 2Group 3Group 4
Scott DonaldsonHe GuoqiangShaun MurphyMark Williams
Kyren WilsonMitchell MannSteven HallworthConnor Benzey
Daniel WomersleyRonnie O’SullivanTian PengfeiDavid Grace
Baipat SiripapornKayden BrierleyReanne EvansFergal Quinn
Group 5Group 6Group 7Group 8
Ali CarterGary WilsonRobbie McGuiganJak Jones
Xing ZihaoJoe PerryBarry PinchesJordan Brown
Joshua ThomandMichael HoltSanderson LamAntoni Kowalski
Kreishh GurbaxaniHuang JiahaoTom FordBulcsú Révész
Group 9Group 10Group 11Group 12
Ma HailongJackson PageRyan DayJack Lisowski
Ben MertensAndrew HigginsonLiam DaviesMark Davis
John HigginsRobert MilkinsHammad MiahJiang Jun
Artemijs ZizinsIulian BoikoMarco FuAnton Kazakov
Group 13Group 14Group 15Group 16
Si JiahuiHossein VafaeiDavid GilbertFan Zhengyi
Peter LinesLouis HeathcoteXu SiAlfie Burden
Zak SuretyJoshua MulhollandDuane JonesMink Nutcharut
Jimmy RobertsonManasawin PhetmalaikulAndrew PagettZhou Yuelong
Group 17Group 18Group 19Group 20
Chris WakelinStuart BinghamLong ZehuangStuart Carrington
Ian BurnsHamim HussainAlfie DaviesPang Junxu
Rory McLeodAnthony HamiltonLei PeifanGong Chenzhi
Liam PullenAhmed Aly ElsayedJamie O’NeillGerard Greene
Group 21Group 22Group 23Group 24
Neil RobertsonJoe O’ConnorMichael WhiteMartin O’Donnell
Cheung Ka WaiAaron HillRyan DaviesRicky Walden
Jamie ClarkeHarvey ChandlerStephen MaguireRory Thor
Zack RichardsonOliver LinesDean YoungUmut Dikme
Group 25Group 26Group 27Group 28
Matthew StevensAlexander UrsenbacherDavid LilleyWu Yize
Farakh AjaibMatthew SeltYuan SijunRoss Muir
Robbie WilliamsGraeme DottLiam GrahamAllan Taylor
Haydon PinheyFlorian NuesslePaul DeavilleJoshua Cooper
Group 29Group 30Group 31Group 32
Ben WoollastonJamie JonesAshley CartyThepchaiya Un-Nooh
Stan MoodyIshpreet Singh ChadhaElliot SlessorDaniel Wells
Dominic DaleChris TottenSimon BlackwellMark Joyce
Dylan EmeryLiu HongyuMostafa DorghamJulien Leclercq

Stage Two

Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
Scott DonaldsonDavid GilbertLong ZehuangMark Williams
Fan ZhengyiStuart BinghamHossein VafeaiBen Woollaston
Thepchaiya Un-NoohHe GuoqiangShaun MurphyStuart Carrington
Chris WakelinAshley CartyJamie JonesSi Jiahui
Group EGroup FGroup GGroup H
Ali CarterDavid LilleyJackson PageMartin O’Donnell
Wu YizeGary WilsonAlexander UrsenbacherJak Jones
Jack LisowskiRyan DayRobbie McGuiganMatthew Stevens
Neil RobertsonJoe O’ConnorMichael WhiteMa Hailong

Stage Three

Final Group 1Final Group 2
Ali CarterJackson Page
Scott DonaldsonDavid Gilbert
Mark WilliamsLong Zehuang
Martin O’DonnellDavid Lilley

Final (bo5)

Ali Carter 3-1 Jackson Page

Featured photo credit: WST

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.