Mark Williams
Ranking, Snooker Headlines

Mark Williams through to last eight in Leicester

Mark Williams won Group D of Championship League Snooker on Monday at the Mattioli Arena in Leicester.

The Welshman was involved in a tight group in Stage Two of the competition with Si Jiahui, Ben Woollaston, and Stuart Carrington.

The first four games during the round-robin play were drawn, leaving it all to play for heading into the third and last round of fixtures.

Woollaston recorded a 3-1 victory over Carrington to give himself an opportunity to progress.

But Williams went one better by whitewashing Si with a 3-0 scoreline that sent him ahead of Woollaston on frame difference.

Williams finished runner-up to Shaun Murphy in this tournament 12 months ago and will be hoping to go one better this time around.

In Group H, meanwhile, Martin O’Donnell prevailed with a similar undefeated record of one triumph and two draws.

Much like in Group D, everything played out evenly over the course of the opening four games with O’Donnell locked in a tie with Jak Jones, Matthew Stevens, and Ma Hailong.

When Jones and Stevens duly couldn’t be separated in another 2-2 result, it left the door ajar for either O’Donnell or Ma to pounce.

It was the former who took advantage, last season’s Welsh Open runner-up edging Ma in a tight fourth frame on the colours.

Williams and O’Donnell join Ali Carter, David Gilbert, Scott Donaldson, and Long Zehuang in Stage Three on Wednesday.

The remaining two spots in the last eight will be filled on Tuesday, with Groups F and G still to be played.

Gary Wilson, Ryan Day, Joe O’Connor, and David Lilley compete in Group F, while Group G comprises Jackson Page, Michael White, Alexander Ursenbacher, and Robbie McGuigan.

Monday, July 1st – Results

Group D
1. Mark Williams 2-2 Stuart Carrington
2. Si Jiahui 2-2 Ben Woollaston
3. Si Jiahui 2-2 Stuart Carrington
4. Mark Williams 2-2 Ben Woollaston
5. Ben Woollaston 3-1 Stuart Carrington
6. Mark Williams 3-0 Ben Woollaston

Group H
1. Jak Jones 2-2 Ma Hailong
2. Matthew Stevens 2-2 Martin O’Donnell
3. Matthew Stevens 2-2 Ma Hailong
4. Jak Jones 2-2 Martin O’Donnell
5. Martin O’Donnell 3-1 Ma Hailong
6. Jak Jones 2-2 Matthew Stevens

Championship League Snooker
Stage One Draw

Group 1Group 2Group 3Group 4
Scott DonaldsonHe GuoqiangShaun MurphyMark Williams
Kyren WilsonMitchell MannSteven HallworthConnor Benzey
Daniel WomersleyRonnie O’SullivanTian PengfeiDavid Grace
Baipat SiripapornKayden BrierleyReanne EvansFergal Quinn
Group 5Group 6Group 7Group 8
Ali CarterGary WilsonRobbie McGuiganJak Jones
Xing ZihaoJoe PerryBarry PinchesJordan Brown
Joshua ThomandMichael HoltSanderson LamAntoni Kowalski
Kreishh GurbaxaniHuang JiahaoTom FordBulcsú Révész
Group 9Group 10Group 11Group 12
Ma HailongJackson PageRyan DayJack Lisowski
Ben MertensAndrew HigginsonLiam DaviesMark Davis
John HigginsRobert MilkinsHammad MiahJiang Jun
Artemijs ZizinsIulian BoikoMarco FuAnton Kazakov
Group 13Group 14Group 15Group 16
Si JiahuiHossein VafaeiDavid GilbertFan Zhengyi
Peter LinesLouis HeathcoteXu SiAlfie Burden
Zak SuretyJoshua MulhollandDuane JonesMink Nutcharut
Jimmy RobertsonManasawin PhetmalaikulAndrew PagettZhou Yuelong
Group 17Group 18Group 19Group 20
Chris WakelinStuart BinghamLong ZehuangStuart Carrington
Ian BurnsHamim HussainAlfie DaviesPang Junxu
Rory McLeodAnthony HamiltonLei PeifanGong Chenzhi
Liam PullenAhmed Aly ElsayedJamie O’NeillGerard Greene
Group 21Group 22Group 23Group 24
Neil RobertsonJoe O’ConnorMichael WhiteMartin O’Donnell
Cheung Ka WaiAaron HillRyan DaviesRicky Walden
Jamie ClarkeHarvey ChandlerStephen MaguireRory Thor
Zack RichardsonOliver LinesDean YoungUmut Dikme
Group 25Group 26Group 27Group 28
Matthew StevensAlexander UrsenbacherDavid LilleyWu Yize
Farakh AjaibMatthew SeltYuan SijunRoss Muir
Robbie WilliamsGraeme DottLiam GrahamAllan Taylor
Haydon PinheyFlorian NuesslePaul DeavilleJoshua Cooper
Group 29Group 30Group 31Group 32
Ben WoollastonJamie JonesAshley CartyThepchaiya Un-Nooh
Stan MoodyIshpreet Singh ChadhaElliot SlessorDaniel Wells
Dominic DaleChris TottenSimon BlackwellMark Joyce
Dylan EmeryLiu HongyuMostafa DorghamJulien Leclercq

Stage Two

Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
Scott DonaldsonDavid GilbertLong ZehuangMark Williams
Fan ZhengyiStuart BinghamHossein VafeaiBen Woollaston
Thepchaiya Un-NoohHe GuoqiangShaun MurphyStuart Carrington
Chris WakelinAshley CartyJamie JonesSi Jiahui
Group EGroup FGroup GGroup H
Ali CarterDavid LilleyJackson PageMartin O’Donnell
Wu YizeGary WilsonAlexander UrsenbacherJak Jones
Jack LisowskiRyan DayRobbie McGuiganMatthew Stevens
Neil RobertsonJoe O’ConnorMichael WhiteMa Hailong

Stage Three

Final Group 1Final Group 2
Ali CarterJackson Page
Scott DonaldsonDavid Gilbert
Mark WilliamsLong Zehuang
Martin O’DonnellDavid Lilley

Final (bo5)

Ali Carter 3-1 Jackson Page

Featured photo credit: WST

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.