Tag: David Gilbert

Former Champions Continue Crucible Run

Ronnie O’Sullivan and Mark Williams both booked their places in the last 16 of the 2016 Betfred World Championship after contrasting opening round victories. O’Sullivan played very well throughout his encounter with fellow Englishman Dave Gilbert but came up against an opponent who refused to wilt at the challenge. Pot success[Read More…]

Murphy and Maguire Beaten in Sheffield

Shaun Murphy and Stephen Maguire both exited the 2016 Betfred World Championship on Sunday at the Crucible. Opening day Saturday had witnessed the defending world champion Stuart Bingham knocked out in dramatic fashion and Murphy, the player who Bingham beat in last year’s final, followed suit after a 10-8 defeat[Read More…]

Players Championship to Break Off

Tuesday marks the opening day in the 2016 Ladbrokes Players Championship in Manchester. Half of the last 32 matches will be played out today while the remaining first round encounters take place on Wednesday. Much like the World Grand Prix in Llandudno a couple of weeks ago, the early stages[Read More…]

Postpones Indian Open

Higgins Sets up Gilbert Final Clash

John Higgins is into the final of the International Championship after a 9-4 victory over Mark Selby on Saturday in China. The four-time world champion was in punishing form throughout the semi-final clash with the world no.1, capitalising on most of Selby’s errors with hard match snooker. Although it came[Read More…]

Gilbert into Maiden Ranking Final

David Gilbert is the first man into the International Championship final after a 9-5 victory over Thepchaiya Un-Nooh in China on Friday. In doing so, the Englishman reaches his maiden ranking event final at the age of 34 having been a professional player since 2002. The fact that this week[Read More…]

World Rankings Top 16

World Rankings after the Northern Ireland Open – won by Mark Allen.

1. Judd Trump
2. Mark Selby
3. Ronnie O’Sullivan
4. Neil Robertson
5. Kyren Wilson
6. John Higgins
7. Shaun Murphy
8. Stephen Maguire
9. Mark Allen
10. Ding Junhui
11. Mark Williams
12. Stuart Bingham
13. Yan Bingtao
14. Barry Hawkins
15. Jack Lisowski
16. Anthony McGill

Fin Ruane Snooker Academy