Tag: China Championship

China Championship: Preview and Draw

The second ranking event of the season gets under way on Wednesday with the China Championship in Guangzhou. The China Championship was launched as a lucrative 16-man invitational last year, with John Higgins collecting a cool £200,000 champion’s cheque for beating Stuart Bingham in the final. With the field increased[Read More…]

big snooker event

Neil Robertson Earns China Spot

Neil Robertson and Ryan Day were among the final qualifiers as the preliminary round for the China Championship wrapped up on Tuesday in Preston. Robertson lost his opening frame against Gerard Greene to a century break but levelled by pinching a close second, before subsequently controlling the contest for a[Read More…]

Ken Doherty Gibraltar Open

Ken Doherty Seals Qualifiers Double

Ken Doherty continued his strong start to the season by qualifying for the lucrative China Championship on Saturday in Preston. The Irishman dropped off the Main Tour last season after falling outside the top 64 in the world rankings following a dismal campaign, but received a reprieve from World Snooker[Read More…]

All Set for Snooker’s Return

After just about a month’s break, the snooker roadshow is about to get back under way with the beginning of the 2017/18 campaign. The start of May saw Mark Selby being crowned world champion for the third time as he became only the fourth player to successfully defend the title[Read More…]

Championing Invitations

The inaugural China Championship came to an appropriate conclusion on Saturday with John Higgins pocketing the mammoth cheque in Guangzhou. Not only did the Scot overcome an elite field to win the lucrative invitational and collect £200,000 – the biggest prize ever awarded outside the UK – Higgins duly managed[Read More…]

World Rankings Top 16

World Rankings after the British Open – won by Mark Williams.

1. Mark Selby
2. Judd Trump
3. Ronnie O’Sullivan
4. Neil Robertson
5. Kyren Wilson
6. Shaun Murphy
7. John Higgins
8. Mark Williams
9. Stephen Maguire
10. Ding Junhui
11. Mark Allen
12. Barry Hawkins
13. Stuart Bingham
14. Jack Lisowski
15. Yan Bingtao
16. Anthony McGill

Fin Ruane Snooker Academy