Tag: Matthew Selt

It’s There!

Over the course of the upcoming World Championship many will be pinned to their seats inside the Crucible Theatre, while there will be countless others glued to their screens watching from afar. In a 17-day ‘marathon of the mind’ there’s a lot to take in and, because of that, so much[Read More…]

Deciding Matters in World Qualifiers

A highly dramatic last session to the final World Championship qualifiers resulted in an amazing five deciding frame thrillers in Ponds Forge. Given the amount of matches played over the last week and the enormity of the consequences of each result, the lack of more 10-9 scorelines earlier on was somewhat[Read More…]

Doherty and O’Brien One Win Away from Crucible

Dubliners Ken Doherty and Fergal O’Brien moved one step closer to a Crucible place after coming through their penultimate World Championship qualifying rounds in Sheffield. Snooker legends Steve Davis and Jimmy White are out, though, after contrasting but equally crushing defeats in Ponds Forge International Sports Centre. 1997 world champion[Read More…]

Maguire Lifts Lisbon Open Trophy

Stephen Maguire won the inaugural Lisbon Open after a 4-2 victory over Matthew Selt in the final on Sunday. Selt was contesting his first final following impressive wins over Dominic Dale, Judd Trump and Barry Hawkins but Maguire’s experience proved to be the pivotal difference in the end. Maguire’s triumph[Read More…]

147 Day but Lines Shines

Ryan Day made his maiden maximum break in tournament play but was unable to reach the semi-finals of the Haining Open in China. The Welshman compiled the 147 break in a 4-1 victory over Chinese Cao Yupeng in the last 32. In a quick 10-minute break, Day was rarely out[Read More…]

World Rankings Top 16

World Rankings after the British Open – won by Mark Williams.

1. Mark Selby
2. Judd Trump
3. Ronnie O’Sullivan
4. Neil Robertson
5. Kyren Wilson
6. Shaun Murphy
7. John Higgins
8. Mark Williams
9. Stephen Maguire
10. Ding Junhui
11. Mark Allen
12. Barry Hawkins
13. Stuart Bingham
14. Jack Lisowski
15. Yan Bingtao
16. Anthony McGill

Fin Ruane Snooker Academy