Higgins and Robertson Progress in PTC 10

John Higgins beat fellow Scot Stephen Hendry 4-3 to reach the last 16 of the tenth Players Tour Championship event of the season in Sheffield.

The world champion had earlier beaten Irishman David Hogan and Adrian Gunnell of England before disposing of his old rival in a close and entertaining battle.

There was never more than a frame between the pair throughout and, when Hendry knocked in a 110 break to force the decider, it looked like a shock result was on the cards.

However, Higgins got in early in the final frame and built up a sizeable lead that the seven-time world champion couldn’t pull back.

Higgins will play Australian star Neil Robertson for a place in the quarter-finals on Wednesday in a mouth-watering draw.

Robertson has already won twice in the PTC series this season, including the event held in Killarney last month.

The Melbourne player saw off Northern Irishmen Mark Allen and Gerard Greene following a whitewashing of amateur player William Lemons.

One amateur who did have an excellent day was England’s Chris Norbury who defeated Anthony Hamilton, Matthew Stevens and Andrew Norman to reach the fourth round.

There Norbury will meet Jamie Cope after a much-needed trio of victories for the Stoke potter.

Michael Holt edged world number one Mark Selby in a late night thriller that finished approaching 1am as proceedings appeared to go behind schedule and he will next play Ben Woollaston.

Finally, Rory McLeod and Joe Perry will do battle after a solid day for the English duo.

The full list of results and the draw can be viewed by clicking here.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

World Rankings Top 16

World Rankings after the Northern Ireland Open – won by Mark Allen.

1. Judd Trump
2. Mark Selby
3. Ronnie O’Sullivan
4. Neil Robertson
5. Kyren Wilson
6. John Higgins
7. Shaun Murphy
8. Stephen Maguire
9. Mark Allen
10. Ding Junhui
11. Mark Williams
12. Stuart Bingham
13. Yan Bingtao
14. Barry Hawkins
15. Jack Lisowski
16. Anthony McGill

Fin Ruane Snooker Academy