Iranian Lands IBSF World Championship

Teenager Hossein Vafaei Ayouri has won the 2011 IBSF World Championship following a dramatic 10-9 victory over Welshman Lee Walker in India.

The International Billiards & Snooker Federation is the world governing body for all of non-professional snooker and this event has a long and illustrious history with the likes of Jimmy White and Ken Doherty emerging victorious in the past.

17 year-old Vafaei was one of the pre-knockout phase favourites having come through the round robin stage as the top seed and maintained his form to memorably lift the trophy.

Walker is a former professional who has reached the quarter-finals of the professional World Championship at the Crucible and staged an impressive comeback from 6-3 and 9-7 behind to force what became a very nervy decider.

Vafaei got in first but his opponent responded and looked set to clear the table only to appear to miss championship winning ball on the pink – judging by the visuals provided by live scoring on the IBSF website.

Wasting little time, the pink and final black were sunk to grant a historic victory that offers Vafaei a nomination onto the professional Main Tour for the 2012/13 campaign.

If that eventuality was to materialise, he will become the first professional player from Iran, which is surely a positive for a sport that has often had potential in the Middle East.

Three Irish players competed in Bangalore – with Brendan O’Donoghue the best of the trio, losing to the eventual champion in the last 8.

No Comments

  1. Pingback: حسین وفایی قهرمان اسنوکر جهان شد.

  2. خدا قوت قهرمان

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

World Rankings Top 16

World Rankings after the Northern Ireland Open – won by Mark Allen.

1. Judd Trump
2. Mark Selby
3. Ronnie O’Sullivan
4. Neil Robertson
5. Kyren Wilson
6. John Higgins
7. Shaun Murphy
8. Stephen Maguire
9. Mark Allen
10. Ding Junhui
11. Mark Williams
12. Stuart Bingham
13. Yan Bingtao
14. Barry Hawkins
15. Jack Lisowski
16. Anthony McGill

Fin Ruane Snooker Academy