World Seniors Returns to Portsmouth

World Snooker:

Snooker superstars past and present will return to the Mountbatten Centre in Portsmouth in October for the 2013 World Seniors Championship.

The tournament was staged in the South Coast city for the first time last year with the likes of Steve Davis, Jimmy White, Dennis Taylor, Cliff Thorburn, Joe Johnson and Tony Knowles competing for the trophy, which was won by Nigel Bond.

This year’s Sky-televised event is on the weekend of October 19-20 and once again many of the sport’s all-time greats will be gracing the green baize, with the line up to be announced shortly.

TICKETS ARE ON SALE NOW and start at just £15. There are also some fabulous VIP tickets available with access to the players’ lounge and the chance for fans to mingle with their heroes. For details call 02392 626509 or visit

And until the end of July there is a SPECIAL OFFER with £5 off all tickets. A limited number of tickets are available at this special price.

Six-time World Champion Steve Davis said: “This is such a wonderful celebration of snooker and a chance for anyone who follows the game to see the characters they loved in the 1980s and 1990s. It’s also a chance for the likes of Jimmy and myself to show we can still play a bit. Above all it’s very enjoyable for everyone and the players can have a bit of fun with a crowd.

“I’m delighted that we’re going to back to Portsmouth as it’s an excellent arena and we had a cracking atmosphere there last year. Hopefully the snooker supporters will come again this year, and for anyone who hasn’t seen the game live before, we can promise a great day out!”

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

World Rankings Top 16

World Rankings after the English Open – won by Neil Robertson.

1. Mark Selby
2. Judd Trump
3. Ronnie O’Sullivan
4. Neil Robertson
5. Kyren Wilson
6. Shaun Murphy
7. John Higgins
8. Stephen Maguire
9. Mark Williams
10. Ding Junhui
11. Mark Allen
12. Yan Bingtao
13. Stuart Bingham
14. Barry Hawkins
15. Jack Lisowski
16. Anthony McGill

Fin Ruane Snooker Academy