Indian Open Postponed Until March

This season’s Indian Open world ranking event in Mumbai has been postponed, with the original dates of 13-17 October 2014 changed to 10-14 March 2015.

Ding Junhui beat India's Aditya Mehta to claim the inaugural title last year - photo courtesy of Monique Limbos.
Ding Junhui beat India’s Aditya Mehta to claim the inaugural title last year – photo courtesy of Monique Limbos.

World Snooker has been advised by the Billiards and Snooker Federation of India to change the dates of the tournament. This follows the recent calling of a State Election in Maharashtra during the October dates.

The qualifying round in Barnsley was due to take place from September 18 to 21 and has been moved to February.

World Snooker Chairman Barry Hearn said: “This is an unfortunate set of circumstances but following the advice we have taken, we have no choice but to postpone the tournament. We have worked swiftly to ensure new dates have been secured.

“Last year’s inaugural Indian Open in New Delhi was a fantastic success and we see snooker in India as having incredible potential for growth. We look forward to next March and the chance for players to experience Mumbai for the first time – and for the fans there to witness the world’s best in action.”

Creator of SnookerHQ and a journalism graduate, David has been actively reporting on snooker since 2011. He has been published in national publications and has appeared on BBC World News and on talkSPORT radio as an analyst.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

World Rankings Top 16

World Rankings after the Tour Championship – won by Neil Robertson.

1. Judd Trump
2. Ronnie O’Sullivan
3. Neil Robertson
4. Mark Selby
5. John Higgins
6. Kyren Wilson
7. Shaun Murphy
8. Stephen Maguire
9. Ding Junhui
10. Yan Bingtao
11. Barry Hawkins
12. Mark Williams
13. Mark Allen
14. Jack Lisowski
15. David Gilbert
16. Anthony McGill

Fin Ruane Snooker Academy