Irish Snooker, News, Women's Snooker

Cathy Dunne Wins RILSA Opener

By Dan Carroll

Cathy Dunne from Dublin took the first RILSA Ranking, the Griffith Cup at Joey’s, recently in a closely contested final against the Irish number one Annette Newman from Carlow.

Annette & Cathy
Annette and Cathy. Photo credit: Dan Carroll

In the top half of the draw, we saw Cathy meet Irish number two Sandra Bryan in the semis, where the match levelled at 1-1 with a great response from Sandra to push it to a final frame.

Cathy, however, overcame the fight from Sandra to take the third and final frame to send her into the final.

The bottom half of the draw saw Michelle O’Boyle from Kildare win her match 2-0 against the Irish number three Christine Carr to advance to her first RILSA semi-final.

Michelle had some chances against Annette in the semis but Annette proved the stronger and took the match 2-0 to meet Cathy in the final.

The final started well for Annette taking the first frame with Cathy responding well to level at 1-1.

The third frame saw some great snooker from both players bringing it down to a black ball finish with Cathy holding firm to pot the pink and get great position on the black to seal the win.

Congratulations to Cathy on her win and to Annette for a fine performance.

Cathy now moves into third spot on the provisional rankings with Annette holding her provisional second place and Sandra keeping just ahead in first spot.

Michelle O’Boyle’s semi-final place puts her into sixth place on the provisional rankings, which is a good result for her.

In the Intermediate Rankings, Susan Hanlon from Dublin and Christine Carr from Kildare made it through to the final on the day with great snooker from both players.

However, it was Susan who was on form, winning 2-0 to put her into number one on the Intermediate National Rankings with Christine holding second spot.

Congratulations to Susan on her win and to Christine on her great performance.

1st Sandra Bryan Breakers Gorey, Wexford
2nd Annette Newman Griffith Club, Carlow
3rd Cathy Dunne Celbridge, Kildare
4th Christine Carr Sharkx Newbridge, Kildare
5th Grace Byrne Ballinabranna, Carlow
6th Michelle O’Boyle Celbridge S.C./Kildare
7th Tina Keogh Portarlington S.C., Laois
8th Paula Judge Celbridge S.C. Kildare
9th Susan Hanlon Joey’s S.C. Dublin
10th Katie French Celbridge S.C./Kildare
11th Clodagh Walsh Ballinabranna, Carlow
12th Rosie Young Portarlington S.C. Laois
13th Lauren Carley Griffith Club, Carlow
14th Tara Byrne Griffith Club/Carlow
15th Kerri Mulleney Ballinabranna, Carlow
16th Roisin Beale Sharkx Newbridge, Kildare

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.