News, Women's Snooker

Ng On Yee to become World Number One

Hong Kong’s Ng On Yee will become the world number one for the first time when the WLBS world rankings are revised next week.

Ng On Yee. Photo credit: Matt Huart

Following her 3-0 victory against Emma Parker at the last 16 stage of the WLBS British Open on Saturday, the reigning world champion has already ensured that she will earn sufficient ranking points from the event held in Stourbridge, England to overhaul long-time number one Reanne Evans at the top of the ranking list, regardless of tomorrow’s results.

On Yee will become the first player from Asia to ascend to the summit of the WLBS rankings, crowning a magnificent past 12 months which have seen the 27-year-old claim five WLBS ranking titles, including her second world title last March in Singapore.

Mandy Fisher said: “It is a brilliant achievement for On Yee to become world number one for the first time ever.”

“She works so hard on her game and since joining our tour seven years ago her determination and desire to improve have always stood out.

“Her rivalry with Reanne at the top of the sport can only be positive for women’s snooker and I am sure that this will be a battle that will continue for many years as Reanne looks to fight back and re-take the top ranking.”

The WLBS British Open resumes on Sunday with the main event now down to the quarter-finals.

View the results and the updated draw HERE.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.