Classic World Snooker Championship
Main News, News

Classic World Snooker Championship Matches on BBC

The 2020 World Snooker Championship was originally scheduled to commence on Saturday, but instead it has been postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The BBC will provide coverage of 17 classic World Snooker Championship matches – one for each day of the original dates of the cancelled event.

Special two-hour programmes will be aired each day on BBC Two, beginning this Saturday afternoon, April 18th.

There have been numerous memorable moments and thrilling encounters at the Crucible Theatre since the tournament was first staged in Sheffield in 1977.

With no live action to enjoy, fans will at least be given the opportunity to rekindle some of emotions from the classic World Snooker Championship battles of yesteryear.

The BBC has done a good job in offering a balanced selection of clashes to enjoy – from reigning champion Steve Davis’ shock defeat to Tony Knowles in 1982 all the way to more recent showdowns from the last decade.

Three of the ties are reserved for Stephen Hendry and Jimmy White, who famously crossed paths seven times within a decade between 1988 and 1998.

Davis, Ronnie O’Sullivan, and reigning world champion Judd Trump also feature regularly on the greatest hits.

A few big ones failed to make the cut, however, including White’s epic with Alex Higgins in the 1982 semi-finals, Trump’s thriller with Ding Junhui at the same stage in 2011, and the 2018 final between legends John Higgins and Mark Williams.

Still, it’s hard to argue with the picks that were made and plenty of the newer fans will certainly enjoy being given the opportunity to experience a few of the older classics for the first time.

Classic World Snooker Championship Matches (Times: BST)

Times may vary depending on region.

Saturday 18 April (15:00): Steve Davis v Tony Knowles – 1982, first round.

Sunday 19 April (14:00): Ray Reardon v Alex Higgins – 1982, final.

Monday 20 April (14:00): Steve Davis v Jimmy White – 1984, final.

Tuesday 21 April (14:00): Neil Robertson v Mark Selby – 2014, semi-final.

Wednesday 22 April (14:00): Steve Davis v Joe Johnson – 1986, final.

Thursday 23 April (14:00): Jimmy White v Stephen Hendry – 1988, second round.

Friday 24 April (14:00): Stephen Hendry v Jimmy White – 1992, final.

Saturday 25 April (12:30): Stephen Hendry v Jimmy White – 1994, final.

Sunday 26 April (14:00): Stephen Hendry v Ronnie O’Sullivan – 2002, semi-final.

Monday 27 April (13:45): Peter Ebdon v Matthew Stevens – 2002, semi-final.

Tuesday 28 April (13:45): Ken Doherty v Paul Hunter – 2003, semi-final.

Wednesday 29 April (13:45): Shaun Murphy v Matthew Stevens – 2007, quarter-final.

Thursday 30 April (13:45): John Higgins v Judd Trump – 2011, final.

Friday 1 May (13:45): Ronnie O’Sullivan v Barry Hawkins – 2013, final.

Saturday 2 May (12:30): Neil Robertson v Judd Trump – 2014, quarter-final.

Sunday 3 May (13:00): Steve Davis v Dennis Taylor – 1985, final.

Monday 4 May (13:45): Judd Trump v Stuart Bingham – 2015, semi-final.

Featured photo credit: WPBSA


  1. Pingback: Classic World Snooker Championship Matches on BBC | Sports 365

  2. Pingback: Eurosport to Show Snooker Vodcast and Classic Matches - SnookerHQ

  3. Duncan birss

    Very predictable and somewhat disappointing choices in my view

  4. Pingback: Stephen Hendry and Ronnie O'Sullivan on Instagram Live - SnookerHQ

  5. Pingback: Stephen Hendry and Ronnie O’Sullivan on Instagram Live – Bouncing Bill

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.