Championship League snooker groups
Main News, News

Championship League Snooker Groups Announced

Snooker will return to the sporting calendar on June 1st after months of inactivity due to the worldwide coronavirus outbreak.

Ronnie O’Sullivan and Judd Trump are among the names who are set to feature in the Championship League snooker groups next month.

Mark Selby, Neil Robertson, Mark Allen, Stuart Bingham, and Kyren Wilson are other notable competitors set to return to action.

The field of 64 unsurprisingly generally only includes players who are from the UK or are based there, however.

A champion’s cheque worth £30,000 is on offer at the Marshall Arena, which boasts on-site accommodation that will assist the players and staff in upholding isolation measures.

All 128 World Snooker Tour card holders were invited to participate, with the top 64 who entered receiving a place in the tournament.

The Championship League snooker groups will be split into three phases, with all matches during all stages played as the best-of-four frames.

GROUP MATCHES from June 1st to 8th will feature 16 groups of four players, with two groups played each day across two tables. The player who tops each group table will progress to Phase Two. Players will be awarded three points for a win and one point for a drawn match.

GROUP WINNERS from June 9th to 10th sees the 16 group winners split into four further groups of four, with two groups per day also played over two tables.

TOURNAMENT FINALS from June 11th will see the four Phase Two winners battle it out over one final group, played on one table, to determine the Championship League winner.

All players, staff, and contractors will be virus-tested prior to entering the venue and will be in isolation until their results are known.

Players will require a negative test result in order to enter the venue, and they will play all group matches on one day.

Snooker will be the first sport in the UK to provide professional competition after the government announced phased plans to lift restrictions.

The last event to be completed was in March, when Trump triumphed in the Gibraltar Open for a record-breaking sixth ranking title in a single season.

Championship League Snooker Groups

Group 1
Stuart Bingham
Ricky Walden
Jamie Clarke
Jordan Brown

Group 2
Judd Trump
Daniel Wells
Elliot Slessor
David Grace

Group 3
Michael Holt
Mark Davis
Mark Joyce
Louis Heathcote

Group 4
Joe Perry
Mark King
Sam Baird
Harvey Chandler

Group 5
Mark Selby
Liang Wenbo
Joe O’Connor
Lee Walker

Group 6
Ali Carter
Matthew Selt
Sam Craigie
Dominic Dale

Group 7
Barry Hawkins
Anthony McGill
Craig Steadman
Hammad Miah

Group 8
Jimmy Robertson
Ben Woollaston
Liam Highfield
Alexander Ursenbacher

Group 9
Jack Lisowski
Luca Brecel
Robbie Williams
Oliver Lines

Group 10
Ronnie O’Sullivan
Chris Wakelin
Michael Georgiou
Kishan Hirani

Group 11
Mark Allen
Martin O’Donnell
Michael White
Nigel Bond

Group 12
Kyren Wilson
Ryan Day
Alfie Burden
Chen Feilong

Group 13
David Gilbert
Stuart Carrington
Jak Jones
Jackson Page

Group 14
Gary Wilson
Matthew Stevens
John Astley
Mitchell Mann

Group 15
Tom Ford
Robert Milkins
Mike Dunn
Ian Burns

Group 16
Neil Robertson
Kurt Maflin
Ken Doherty
Ashley Carty

Featured photo credit: WST

One Comment

  1. Pingback: Snooker Quiz! A or B #6 - SnookerHQ

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.