qualifying match
Main News, Ranking

Yan Bingtao and David Gilbert Lose Qualifying Match

The pair bowed out at the opening hurdle and will miss out on the opportunity to compete at the Tempodrom this season.

Yan Bingtao lost a deciding-frame encounter with Sam Craigie in his German Masters qualifying match on Wednesday.

The Chinese number two led 2-0 and 3-2 only to miss out on a spot in the last 64 when his opponent compiled a break of 51 in the ninth frame.

David Gilbert also crashed out at the first hurdle, suffering a 5-2 reverse against 20 year-old Yuan Sijun in Milton Keynes.

Scotland’s John Higgins was in danger of becoming an even bigger casualty, but the four-time world champion managed to win the last two frames in a topsy-turvy 5-4 defeat of Robert Milkins.

Masters champion Stuart Bingham and World Championship finalist Kyren Wilson had a much easier time, comprehensively overcoming respective challengers Eden Sharav and Zak Surety.

Former ranking event winners Ricky Walden, Anthony McGill, Jimmy Robertson, and Michael Holt were among the others to safely advance to the second qualifying match.

Elsewhere, Ireland’s Aaron Hill outplayed Billy Joe Castle to record another victory in what is the teenager’s debut season on the Main Tour.

The Cork cueist could have set up an intriguing battle with countryman Ken Doherty, only for the latter to lose by the same 5-2 margin against Liang Wenbo.

Michael White, meanwhile, defied his deceptive amateur status to oust fellow Welshman Matthew Stevens, with Tom Ford, Jordan Brown, and Robbie Williams a few of the other names to make it through at the Marshall Arena.

China’s Tian Pengfei was forced to withdraw from the event, in addition to next week’s Northern Ireland Open, as a result of testing positive for COVID-19.

On Thursday, the action continues with the first qualifying round reaching its conclusion.

Former champion Mark Selby enters the fray against Fergal O’Brien, while Sunday’s Champion of Champions finalists Mark Allen and Neil Robertson feature against Gao Yang and Ben Woollaston respectively.

Click here to view the draw – scheduled times in CET (External Site)

Featured photo credit: WST

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.