Liang Wenbo Player Profile
Ranking, Snooker Headlines, World Championship

The 16 Qualifiers for the World Snooker Championship

They have fought their way through the gruelling ten-day preliminaries.

With the 16 qualifiers now known, the venue stages of the World Snooker Championship are just around the corner in Sheffield.

The qualifying tournament began at the beginning of last week, and after Tuesday and Wednesday’s final round the full line-up at the Crucible Theatre is finally complete.

Ronnie O’Sullivan, Judd Trump, Neil Robertson, and 13 other stars from the top 16 in the world rankings await them in a first-round proper that commences on Saturday morning.

Among the 16 qualifiers are 2015 world champion Stuart Bingham, who overcame Luca Brecel 10-5, and two-time former finalist Ali Carter.

English duo Mark Joyce and Sam Craigie will be making their debut after holding off the challenges of Igor Figueiredo and Zhao Xintong respectively.

Indeed, eleven of the qualifiers are from England, with only three Chinese, one Welsh player, and one Norwegian among those who advanced.

The eagerly anticipated draw for the last 32 will be conducted on Thursday morning at 11am, UK time.

16 Qualifiers for the World Snooker Championship

Liam Highfield
Matthew Selt
Kurt Maflin
Lyu Haotian
Tian Pengfei
Jamie Jones
Liang Wenbo
Mark Davis
Mark Joyce
Ricky Walden
Martin Gould
Gary Wilson
Ali Carter
Sam Craigie
Chris Wakelin
Stuart Bingham

Featured photo credit: WST


  1. Pingback: The 16 Qualifiers for the World Snooker Championship | Sports 365

  2. Pingback: The 16 Qualifiers for the World Snooker Championship | PK Sports News

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.