Championship League Winners Group
Main News, Non-Ranking

John Higgins into Championship League Winners’ Group

John Higgins emerged as the winner of Group 7 on Wednesday, completing the lineup for the Winners’ Group of this season’s non-ranking Championship League.

The Scot, twice a former winner of the invitational event, comfortably qualified for the knockout phase of Group 7 thanks to a 5-1 win-loss record during the round-robin stage.

In the last four Higgins overcame Kyren Wilson 3-1 before edging Ding Junhui in the final by a single frame – the latter having made two centuries in the contest.

Higgins joins Chinese trio Zhao Xintong, Yan Bingtao, and Liang Wenbo, Englishman Stuart Bingham, and countrymen Graeme Dott and Scott Donaldson in the Championship League Winners’ Group.

The action at the Morningside Arena takes place over the next couple of days, and by the end of Friday’s play the latest champion of the tournament will be crowned.

As well as various monetary benefits from competing in the competition, the Championship League also provides a potential avenue to the lucrative and prestigious Champion of Champions.

Higgins previously claimed the title in back-to-back seasons in 2017 and 2018, while Stuart Bingham and Scott Donaldson have also written their names into the roll of honour.

Click here to view the Championship League Winners’ Group draw and schedule (times in CET)

Featured photo credit: WST

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.