Robert Milkins
Ranking, Snooker Headlines

Robert Milkins reaches last eight

Robert Milkins prevailed in a tight group to reach Stage Three of Championship League Snooker on Tuesday in Leicester.

The reigning Welsh Open champion, who has risen back to number 13 in the world rankings, pipped Si Jiahui and John Astley by a point in Group H.

Milkins got off to a strong start when he recorded a 3-0 victory over Astley in his first fixture at the Morningside Arena.

The 47 year-old then secured a 2-2 draw with Si, the up-and-coming star who he lost to in the second round of this year’s World Championship.

It left the pair locked on four points at the top of the round-robin table, meaning the outcome of the group was to be decided in the last couple of games.

But Si’s defeat to Astley left the door open for Milkins, who safely advanced at the young Chinese competitor’s expense with a 2-2 tie against Pang Junxu.

Group C was also quite tight with three of the four contenders still able to qualify ahead of the last round of encounters.

But after a 3-0 defeat of Liu Hongyu and a 2-2 draw against Daniel Wells, Noppon Saengkham knew that his fate was in his own hands.

The Thai needed a victory over Ashley Carty to guarantee his place in the last eight of the competition, and the 31 year-old duly orchestrated a 3-1 triumph.

Both Robert Milkins and Noppon Saengkham will feature on Friday’s final day in the Championship League when the new snooker season’s first champion will be determined.

On Wednesday, Stage Two continues with Shaun Murphy back in the fray in Group D alongside former champion David Gilbert, Thepchaiya Un-Nooh, and James Cahill.

Zhou Yuelong is the favourite in Group A with the Chinese competitor in action against countryman Xiao Guodong and English pair Ben Woollaston and Michael Holt.

Championship League Snooker
Stage Two draw

Group A (July 19)
Michael Holt
Ben Woollaston
Zhou Yuelong
Xiao Guodong
Group B (July 20)
Judd Trump
Matthew Stevens
Joe Perry
Cao Yupeng
Group C (July 18)
Ashley Carty
Liu Hongyu
Daniel Wells
Noppon Saengkham
Group D (July 19)
Shaun Murphy
David Gilbert
Thepchaiya Un-Nooh
James Cahill
Group E (July 17)
Kyren Wilson
Sanderson Lam
Chris Wakelin
Anthony Hamilton
Group F (July 17)
Mark Williams
Martin O’Donnell
Robbie Williams
Barry Pinches
Group G (July 20)
Long Zehuang
Michael White
Sam Craigie
Jak Jones
Group H (July 18)
John Astley
Robert Milkins
Pang Junxu
Si Jiahui

Featured photo credit: WST

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.