World Snooker Stay With Star Tables

World Snooker is delighted to announce the signing of a new cooperation agreement with Star Xing Pai.

The exclusive agreement will run for a minimum of five years and will see the Star Championship table continue to be used for all of World Snooker’s events around the World.

WPBSA Chairman Jason Ferguson said: “Star is widely recognised globally as the leading manufacturer of billiard tables so we are thrilled to sign this new agreement.

“We continuously strive to provide optimum playing conditions at our tournaments and that is evident in the standard of play on the tour now. The quality of the Star tables has been tried and tested and it is clear that this product is second to none.”

World Snooker Chairman Barry Hearn added:“We are extremely grateful to Star for their support of snooker through a period of unprecedented growth from seven tournaments to a full calendar of 32 events. Star share our vision for the growth of snooker globally. We look forward to working with their team for many years to come.”

Creator of SnookerHQ and a journalism graduate, David has been actively reporting on snooker since 2011. He has been published in national publications and has appeared on BBC World News and on talkSPORT radio as an analyst.


  1. David, I noticed that there was only one century per more than 100 frames in Round 2. What is the reason? Are the tables so bad?

    • In the China Open? Any number of reasons. Conditions may not be at the highest, players may be experiencing slight burnout after a long season or perhaps a lot of the players are distracted with the World Championship ahead.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

World Rankings Top 16

World Rankings after the Tour Championship – won by Neil Robertson.

1. Judd Trump
2. Ronnie O’Sullivan
3. Neil Robertson
4. Mark Selby
5. John Higgins
6. Kyren Wilson
7. Shaun Murphy
8. Stephen Maguire
9. Ding Junhui
10. Yan Bingtao
11. Barry Hawkins
12. Mark Williams
13. Mark Allen
14. Jack Lisowski
15. David Gilbert
16. Anthony McGill

Fin Ruane Snooker Academy