Irish Snooker, News

Sutton “in breach” of WPBSA Rules

The World Professional Billiards and Snooker Association yesterday released a statement confirming that amateur Irishman John Sutton has been found guilty of match-fixing.

Sutton also played in the UK Championship, losing 6-0 to Ding Junhui - photo courtesy of Monique Limbos.
Sutton also played in the UK Championship, losing 6-0 to Ding Junhui – photo courtesy of Monique Limbos.

Specifically, the Disciplinary Committee decided that Sutton was “in breach” of four WPBSA Members Rule after a hearing on the 24th March. Namely;

2.1.2 Corruption: to fix or contrive, or to be a party to any effort to fix or contrive, the result, score, progress, conduct or any other aspect of the Tour and/or any Tournament or Match;

2.1.3 Misuse of inside information: to use for betting purposes, or to provide to any other person for such purposes, any information relating to the Tour and/or any Tournament or Match that the ember possesses by virtue of his position within the sport and that is not in the public domain or readily accessible by the public;

The match in question took place at the International Championship qualifiers in Barnsley when Sutton was defeated 6-0 by Scotland’s Jamie Burnett.

There is no suggestion that Burnett, a player previously under suspicion on similar charges, had anything to do with the foul play.

Sutton isn’t a member of the WPBSA and does not hold a World Snooker tour card.

He gained an invitation to play in a number of events this season via his strong performances in 2014’s Q-School.

A further hearing will take place at a later date to decide Sutton’s sanction.

No Comments

  1. Pingback: Top 10 Most Read Stories of 2015 | SnookerHQ

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

World Rankings Top 16

World Rankings after the Northern Ireland Open – won by Mark Allen.

1. Judd Trump
2. Mark Selby
3. Ronnie O’Sullivan
4. Neil Robertson
5. Kyren Wilson
6. John Higgins
7. Shaun Murphy
8. Stephen Maguire
9. Mark Allen
10. Ding Junhui
11. Mark Williams
12. Stuart Bingham
13. Yan Bingtao
14. Barry Hawkins
15. Jack Lisowski
16. Anthony McGill

Fin Ruane Snooker Academy