Irish Snooker, News

All-Ireland Club Championships Kick off in Killarney

While there’s no snooker on the professional Main Tour until next week, this weekend actually represents one of the busiest weekends of snooker in Ireland on the annual calendar.

Q Club Wicklow 2
Q Club Wicklow won in 2014 and 2015 – photo from the All-Ireland Club Championship Facebook page.

The All-Ireland Club Championships take place in its longstanding home of The Gleneagle Hotel in Killarney.

It may be in a remote location but scores of players from the length and breadth of the island will make the trip south to Kerry for a keenly contested tournament.

Bragging rights for the year are on offer with the event boasting a mix of clubs from both north and south of the border.

Today there’s a flyer to get the festivities started before the Club Championships themselves begin with the group stages from Thursday.

Champion in the Premier Section in each of the last two years has been Q Club Wicklow – among their team 12 months ago were Michael Judge and Robert Murphy.

Will they make it a hat-trick of titles or can another club end their reign?

The best of luck to everyone taking part.

Click here to follow updated information on the official Facebook Page.

Creator of SnookerHQ and a journalism graduate, David has been actively reporting on snooker since 2011. He has been published in national publications and has appeared on BBC World News and on talkSPORT radio as an analyst.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

World Rankings Top 16

World Rankings after the Tour Championship – won by Neil Robertson.

1. Judd Trump
2. Ronnie O’Sullivan
3. Neil Robertson
4. Mark Selby
5. John Higgins
6. Kyren Wilson
7. Shaun Murphy
8. Stephen Maguire
9. Ding Junhui
10. Yan Bingtao
11. Barry Hawkins
12. Mark Williams
13. Mark Allen
14. Jack Lisowski
15. David Gilbert
16. Anthony McGill

Fin Ruane Snooker Academy