Irish Snooker

New Institute Claim All-Ireland Club Championship

New Institute won the 2016 All-Ireland Club Championship at The Gleneagle Hotel in Killarney on Sunday.

New Institute 2016

New Institute Club – photo courtesy of the All-Ireland Snooker Club Championships Facebook page.

The Nenagh club, which included national champion Brendan O’Donoghue, overcame Cork’s Crucible by three matches to one in the final.

O’Donoghue was joined by David Hogan, Mark Walsh, Tony Seymour and Andy McCloskey in a high-quality outfit which knocked out the two-time defending champions Q Club Wicklow in the last four.

Crucible’s Greg Casey, David Cassidy, Ryan Cronin, Daniel O’Regan and Dean Callanan overcame Drumaness of Down in the semi-finals but were soundly beaten by a strong New Institute in the showdown for the title.

The contest marked a repeat of the Munster Club Championship final only last week – which the Tipperary team also prevailed in.

The All-Ireland B Championship was won by Potters Club of Drogheda.

Congratulations to all the winners!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s