News, Quizzes

QUIZ: UK Championship Finals

The 2017 UK Championship is already well under way with the television stages set to commence from Saturday in York.

Ronnie O'Sullivan Judd Trump UK Championship 2014 (ML)
A memorable final between O’Sullivan and Trump, but when was it? Photo credit: Monique Limbos

With this year celebrating the 40th anniversary since the inaugural staging back in 1977, the UK Championship represents the third oldest professional tournament behind the World Championship and the prestigious Masters.

Most of the biggest faces in the sport have managed to etch their names onto the beautiful trophy in the past four decades and, as ever, it’ll be interesting to see if a new member can join the illustrious group of champions in just over a week’s time.

There have been a wide range of different finals in a host of venues, from the once permanent UK home of the Preston Guild Hall to its newest stop at the Barbican Centre, and the lesser remembered locations of Bournemouth and Telford.

The first final was played over the best-of-23 frames at the Tower Circus in Blackpool before longer showdowns became the norm with the best-of-31 guise from 1980.

It wasn’t until 1993 that the length was reduced to its current best-of-19 affair for glory.

A total of nine finals have gone the distance, while the record margin of victory was a whopping 13 frames when Steve Davis hammered Terry Griffiths 16-3 in… wait, no hints!

This quiz is a little different to all the others in that the answers are provided for you, so all you have to do is match the year with the final.

The question is, how well do you remember the UK Championship finals?

Click here to take the QUIZ!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

World Rankings Top 16

World Rankings after the British Open – won by Mark Williams.

1. Mark Selby
2. Judd Trump
3. Ronnie O’Sullivan
4. Neil Robertson
5. Kyren Wilson
6. Shaun Murphy
7. John Higgins
8. Mark Williams
9. Stephen Maguire
10. Ding Junhui
11. Mark Allen
12. Barry Hawkins
13. Stuart Bingham
14. Jack Lisowski
15. Yan Bingtao
16. Anthony McGill

Fin Ruane Snooker Academy