White Champion of Champions
Main News

Jimmy White Confirmed in Champion of Champions

The Whirlwind will feature in the prestigious invitational event for the second successive season.

Details about the Champion of Champions line-up have been announced by the World Snooker Tour – with legend Jimmy White in the field once again.

The 58 year-old was crowned the world seniors champion last month following a brilliant comeback from 4-0 behind to deny Ken Doherty in a dramatic final-round decider at the Crucible Theatre.

Victory for the Londoner represented his third world success on the seniors tour, and with it he gets offered another crack at the big-time in a high-profile tournament alongside the best players in the world.

In the 2019 Champion of Champions, White almost caused a sensation when he raced into a 3-0 lead against Ronnie O’Sullivan, only to ultimately surrender to a fight back from his esteemed opponent and lose in a deciding frame.

World champion O’Sullivan will be one of the star competitors in the 2020 field as he bids to claim the title for a fourth time.

Last year’s edition of the Matchroom Sport event, the last tournament to be staged at the Ricoh Arena in Coventry, was the first time O’Sullivan entered the competition and failed to reach the final.

Instead, a barnstorming showdown took place between Neil Robertson and Judd Trump – one of the most memorable title-deciders in recent memory with the Australian emerging victoriously amid a high-scoring frenzy.

The pair will be among the favourites for glory again in 2020, and their qualification was never in doubt having triumphed in seven tournament between them since last year.

Meanwhile, former champion Shaun Murphy will be involved courtesy of his Welsh Open victory, but 2016 winner John Higgins looks set to miss out for the first time as things stand.

Ding Junhui and Stuart Bingham will feature thanks to their respective UK Championship and Masters glories, while Mark Selby qualifies on the back of his Scottish Open success.

Stephen Maguire will participate after his superb win in the Tour Championship and Snooker Shoot Out champion Michael Holt will make his debut in this year’s competition.

As the World Championship runner-up, Kyren Wilson will return and attempt to go one better than his runner-up finish in 2018.

The two other confirmed spots have been awarded to Championship League winners Scott Donaldson and Luca Brecel.

A third Championship League in the space of a year will take place in the next month, offering another place in the 16-strong Champion of Champions line-up.

The winners of the upcoming European Masters and English Open will also be invited, but if there is a repeat winner in those events the position will instead be given to players based on the WST official rankings list.

The Champion of Champions moves to the Marshall Arena in 2020 and will take place from November 2nd to November 8th in Milton Keynes.

Featured photo credit: WSS

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.