2020 Championship League draw
Main News, Ranking

2020 Championship League Final Stages Draw and Preview

The competition is being staged as a ranking event for the first time in its history.

The third Championship League in 2020 resumes on Monday with the likes of Judd Trump and Mark Selby still in the draw in Milton Keynes.

Both rankings events so far in this campaign have been won by the English pair – Selby triumphing in the European Masters before last weekend’s English Open success for Trump.

The world number one has a strong record in the Championship League, of course, with a record three titles to his name.

However, those victories all came in the old format, as a new one has been devised in order to incorporate all the Main Tour players.

That resulted in two eight-day stretches at the MK Stadium having already taken place to determine the 32 initial group winners who have made it through to the final stages.

Eight new groups of four will provide another set of group winners who will subsequently advance to the final two mini-leagues later this week – with those table-toppers ultimately contesting the final to determine the overall champion.

Trump’s group A comprises countrymen Barry Hawkins and Robert Milkins, as well as Welshman Ryan Day.

The world number one will be attempting to add to his previous Championship League triumphs from 2009, 2014, and 2016.

Selby, meanwhile, is in Group D of the draw alongside Graeme Dott – a finalist in the first Championship League of 2020 – in addition to Rory McLeod and Jamie O’Neill.

Two-time winner John Higgins participates in Group G with European Masters runner-up Martin Gould, Tom Ford, and the ever-improving Jamie Clarke.

A couple of former world champions feature in Groups B and C respectively, with Shaun Murphy in action in the former and Stuart Bingham hoping to progress beyond the latter.

March’s Championship League winner Scott Donaldson is in a difficult Group F with Kyren Wilson, David Gilbert, and Mark King.

Veteran Ken Doherty and inaugural champion Joe Perry from all the way back in 2008 are two of the others rejoining the fray.

The format continues in its short guise, with round-robin matches played over just four frames.

With three points awarded for a win and one point for a draw, it’s bound to be a competitive week with any of the 32 contenders capable of emerging with the top prize.

As well as the winner’s share worth £33,000, the champion will also receive the added bonus of an invite to the upcoming Champion of Champions.

Live coverage is on Matchroom.Live and FreeSports.

Last 32 Draw

Group A
Judd Trump
Barry Hawkins
Ryan Day
Robert Milkins

Group B
Shaun Murphy
Zhou Yuelong
Matthew Selt
Dominic Dale

Group C
Stuart Bingham
Zhao Xintong
Luo Honghao
Alexander Ursenbacher

Group D
Mark Selby
Graeme Dott
Jamie O’Neill
Rory McLeod

Group E
Thepchaiya Un-Nooh
Xiao Guodong
Jordan Brown
Ken Doherty

Group F
Kyren Wilson
David Gilbert
Scott Donaldson
Mark King

Group G
John Higgins
Tom Ford
Martin Gould
Jamie Clarke

Group H
Joe Perry
Mark Davis
Li Hang
Tian Pengfei

Featured photo credit: WST

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.