Carter Pro Series
Main News, Ranking

Ali Carter Wins Group H in Pro Series

The Captain was in fine form as the first stage of the competition continued.

Ali Carter won six out of his seven round-robin fixtures to top Group H in the WST Pro Series on Wednesday in Milton Keynes.

The former world number two compiled four century breaks throughout the day as he saw off the likes of Chinese duo Tian Pengfei and Chang Bingyu.

Mark Davis was the only player to beat the four-time ranking event winner – a result which proved pivotal in his progress via second place.

Davis edged out Simon Lichtenberg into third place on frame difference, despite boasting the same win-loss record as the German.

Carter and Davis will next feature in phase two of the inaugural Pro Series in a week’s time, while the other participants – including amateurs Dylan Emery, Kuldesh Johal, and Hamim Hussain – have all been eliminated.

What is the WST Pro Series?

The format for the WST Pro Series is quite similar to that which was utilised for two out of the three editions of the Championship League that were staged during 2020.

There are 16 groups comprising eight players in each, with a round-robin phase determining the top two who will advance to the second group stage.

Eight groups in the first stage already took place in January, while the outcome from the remaining eight groups will be determined over the coming days.

Shaun Murphy, Kyren Wilson, Stuart Bingham, and Jack Lisowski are among the bigger names who have already made it through.

The 32 players who progress to stage two will be split into four more groups of eight, with the top two again moving forward from each to contest the final group.

That remaining set of eight players will subsequently battle it out in the same fashion to become the overall champion.

There is a total tournament prize fund of £420,500, broken down in various ways throughout the three group stages.

The winner, however, stands to collect at least £30,000 in an event that incorporates a sprint best-of-three frames format throughout.

What’s Next?

On Thursday, Group F takes place with recent Welsh Open winner Jordan Brown set to be involved alongside Ben Woollaston, Noppon Saengkham, David Grace, Igor Figueiredo, Riley Parsons, Fergal O’Brien, and amateur Robbie McGuigan.

Live coverage will be available via an account with several online bookmakers, as well as around the world through the Matchroom.Live streaming service.

Click here to view the full draw (Times in CET)

Featured photo credit: WST

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.