Martin O'Donnell
Main News, Ranking

Martin O’Donnell and Chris Wakelin advance

English duo Martin O’Donnell and Chris Wakelin moved onto the next stage of Championship League Snooker on Tuesday in Leicester.

The pair topped their respective groups in Stage 1 of the season-opening ranking event at the Morningside Arena.

Wakelin, the Snooker Shoot Out champion from last term, won two out of his three round-robin ties from Group 21 to finish in first place.

The 31 year-old beat Liam Pullen and Anton Kazakov while dropping just one frame to guarantee his safe passage through to the last 32, leaving his 3-0 defeat to Oliver Lines towards the end of the day largely redundant.

In Group 11, O’Donnell went undefeated as he marked his return to the professional scene in style.

The 37 year-old regained his tour card through strong performances on the Q Tour last season, and he’ll be looking to build on that during this campaign.

After a 3-0 victory over Aaron Hill, O’Donnell secured a crucial draw with pre-group favourite Hossein Vafaei of Iran.

O’Donnell subsequently overcame amateur top-up Fergal Quinn to safeguard his place in the next stage of the competition.

Wakelin and O’Donnell will have to wait several weeks to compete again in the Championship League, which takes a mammoth four weeks to complete.

On Wednesday, two more groups will be undertaken with Ryan Day entering the fray alongside Michael White, Himanshu Jain, and Jiang Jun in Group 10.

In Group 22, meanwhile, Scottish Open runner-up Joe O’Connor will be joined by Robbie Williams, Zak Surety, and amateur Alfie Davies.

Stage 1 draw

Group 1 (July 10)Group 2 (July 11)Group 3 (June 26)Group 4 (July 12)
Ronnie O’SullivanJudd TrumpCraig SteadmanShaun Murphy
Scott DonaldsonXu SiSean McAllisterTian Pengfei
Rod LawlerJimmy WhiteAdam DuffyLukas Kleckers
Alfie BurdenReanne EvansAshley CartyAndrew Pagett
Group 5 (June 29)Group 6 (June 30)Group 7 (July 6)Group 8 (July 7)
Kyren WilsonMark WilliamsAli CarterRobert Milkins
Andy HicksDylan EmeryJackson PageDominic Dale
Asjad IqbalKen DohertyLong ZehuangMuhammad Asif
Louis HeathcoteThor Chuan LeongRyan DaviesAlex Taubman
Group 9 (July 14)Group 10 (June 28)Group 11 (June 27)Group 12 (July 12)
Gary WilsonRyan DayHossein VafaeiBarry Hawkins
John AstleyMichael WhiteAaron HillZhang Anda
Mink NutcharutHimanshu JainMartin O’DonnellSanderson Lam
Ma HailongJiang JunFergal QuinnJamie O’Neill
Group 13 (July 13)Group 14 (July 14)Group 15 (July 4)Group 16 (July 3)
David GilbertRicky WaldenStuart BinghamJimmy Robertson
Yuan SijunDavid LilleyMatthew StevensBen Woollaston
Sean O’SullivanPeng YisongAllan TaylorLiam Graham
Ishpreet SinghLiu HongyuDuane JonesPeter Lines
Group 17 (July 5)Group 18 (July 11)Group 19 (July 10)Group 20 (July 8)
Zhou YuelongJoe PerryNoppon SaengkhamMatthew Selt
Ashley HugillJamie ClarkeMark DavisJames Cahill
Oliver BrownAndy LeeJenson KendrickAndres Petrov
TBCStuart CarringtonRoss MuirSydney Wilson
Group 21 (June 27)Group 22 (June 28)Group 23 (July 7)Group 24 (July 6)
Chris WakelinJoe O’ConnorFan ZhengyiPang Junxu
Oliver LinesRobbie WilliamsSam CraigieWu Yize
Anton KazakovZak SuretyFergal O’BrienHammad Miah
Liam PullenAlfie DaviesAhmed Aly ElsayedStan Moody
Group 25 (July 8)Group 26 (July 5)Group 27 (June 30)Group 28 (July 4)
Si JiahuiJak JonesJordan BrownAnthony Hamilton
Mark JoyceJamie JonesJulien LeclercqBen Mertens
Mohamed IbrahimRebecca KennaMarco FuRyan Thomerson
Haydon PinheyDean YoungBarry PinchesXing Zihao
Group 29 (June 29)Group 30 (June 26)Group 31 (July 13)Group 32 (July 3)
Thepchaiya Un-NoohGraeme DottCao YupengXiao Guodong
Elliot SlessorDavid GraceLyu HaotianMartin Gould
Victor SarkisDaniel WellsIan BurnsAlexander Ursenbacher
Florian NuessleAndrew HigginsonSteven HallworthRory McLeod

Featured photo credit: WPBSA

One Comment

  1. As you say, the drama fizzled out. Both group winners were decided before the final match, and indeed the Wakelin-Lines match was completely unnecessary – the four group positions were already determined. Maybe they can address this next year.

    It was good to see Liam Pullen get his first win. He looked much more relaxed as the day went on. Other players, such as Lines, Vafaei and sometimes Wakelin, looked a bit rusty.

    Today we see another interesting ‘rookie’: Jiang Jun. He’s an ‘unnatural’ left-hander from Ji’an in Jiangxi province (close to Yushan and Nanchang, hometown of Yuan Sijun and Luo Honghao). He’s just 17, with a good all-round game and steady temperament. However, last week he was playing a Pro-Am in Guangzhou (he lost in the final), so may be underprepared for his first match in the UK.

    Alfie Davies (not Davis, as on the CL website) is also quite a decent player, 22 years old. He had some good results on the amateur circuit in Wales last season, and is steadily improving.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.