Wu Yize
Ranking, Snooker Headlines

Wu Yize and Martin O’Donnell move through

Wu Yize won all three of his round-robin fixtures as he controlled Group 28 of Championship League Snooker on Tuesday in Leicester.

The 20 year-old from China showed glimpses of his potential last season, including during an impressive run to the semi-finals of the Wuhan Open.

Wu will be looking to improve his consistency during the 2024/25 campaign, and it’s a case of so far so good for the former IBSF world under-21 champion.

A 3-1 defeat of amateur top-up Joshua Cooper got him off to a perfect start at the Mattioli Arena.

Wu then followed that up with another couple of 3-1 wins against Allan Taylor and Ross Muir, scoring a magnificent 142 total clearance against the latter.

With aspirations of soon breaking into the top 32 in the world rankings for the first time, Wu safely moves forward to Stage Two of the competition.

Joining him in the last 32 is Martin O’Donnell, who also went undefeated during his strong day in Group 24.

Last term’s Welsh Open runner-up opened his account with a 2-2 draw against Rory Thor before coming from behind to deny German amateur Umut Dikme.

By this point, O’Donnell trailed the group’s higher seed Ricky Walden in the standings, the latter having beaten the same two opponents to the loss of just a single frame.

But despite losing the opening frame, O’Donnell secured the win over Walden that he needed to progress from Stage One at the expense of his fellow Englishman.

The 38 year-old’s betting odds for glory in the season’s opening ranking event have been cut to about 40/1 with Wu now boasting odds of around 33/1.

There are many online options for sportsbooks and casinos. Click here to find out more about The Pokies as a way to win prizes with a no-deposit bonus.

On Wednesday, Championship League Snooker continues with another couple of groups.

In Group 26, Matthew Selt is in action against former world champion Graeme Dott, Alexander Ursenbacher, and Florian Nuessle.

Yuan Sijun fronts Group 27 with the Chinese competitor competing alongside David Lilley, Liam Graham, and Paul Deaville.

Tuesday, June 18th – Results

Group 24
1. Ricky Walden 3-0 Umut Dikme
2. Martin O’Donnell 2-2 Rory Thor
3. Martin O’Donnell 3-1 Umut Dikme
4. Ricky Walden 3-1 Rory Thor
5. Rory Thor 2-2 Umut Dikme
6. Martin O’Donnell 3-1 Ricky Walden

Group 28
1. Wu Yize 3-1 Joshua Cooper
2. Ross Muir 3-1 Allan Taylor
3. Ross Muir 2-2 Joshua Cooper
4. Wu Yize 3-1 Allan Taylor
5. Allan Taylor 3-0 Joshua Cooper
6. Wu Yize 3-1 Ross Muir

Championship League Snooker
Stage One Draw

Group 1Group 2Group 3Group 4
Scott DonaldsonHe GuoqiangShaun MurphyMark Williams
Kyren WilsonMitchell MannSteven HallworthConnor Benzey
Daniel WomersleyRonnie O’SullivanTian PengfeiDavid Grace
Baipat SiripapornKayden BrierleyReanne EvansFergal Quinn
Group 5Group 6Group 7Group 8
Ali CarterGary WilsonRobbie McGuiganJak Jones
Xing ZihaoJoe PerryBarry PinchesJordan Brown
Joshua ThomandMichael HoltSanderson LamAntoni Kowalski
Kreishh GurbaxaniHuang JiahaoTom FordBulcsú Révész
Group 9Group 10Group 11Group 12
Ma HailongJackson PageRyan DayJack Lisowski
Ben MertensAndrew HigginsonLiam DaviesMark Davis
John HigginsRobert MilkinsHammad MiahJiang Jun
Artemijs ZizinsIulian BoikoMarco FuAnton Kazakov
Group 13Group 14Group 15Group 16
Si JiahuiHossein VafaeiDavid GilbertFan Zhengyi
Peter LinesLouis HeathcoteXu SiAlfie Burden
Zak SuretyJoshua MulhollandDuane JonesMink Nutcharut
Jimmy RobertsonManasawin PhetmalaikulAndrew PagettZhou Yuelong
Group 17Group 18Group 19Group 20
Chris WakelinStuart BinghamLong ZehuangStuart Carrington
Ian BurnsHamim HussainAlfie DaviesPang Junxu
Rory McLeodAnthony HamiltonLei PeifanGong Chenzhi
Liam PullenAhmed Aly ElsayedJamie O’NeillGerard Greene
Group 21Group 22Group 23Group 24
Neil RobertsonJoe O’ConnorMichael WhiteMartin O’Donnell
Cheung Ka WaiAaron HillRyan DaviesRicky Walden
Jamie ClarkeHarvey ChandlerStephen MaguireRory Thor
Zack RichardsonOliver LinesDean YoungUmut Dikme
Group 25Group 26Group 27Group 28
Matthew StevensAlexander UrsenbacherDavid LilleyWu Yize
Farakh AjaibMatthew SeltYuan SijunRoss Muir
Robbie WilliamsGraeme DottLiam GrahamAllan Taylor
Haydon PinheyFlorian NuesslePaul DeavilleJoshua Cooper
Group 29Group 30Group 31Group 32
Ben WoollastonJamie JonesAshley CartyThepchaiya Un-Nooh
Stan MoodyIshpreet Singh ChadhaElliot SlessorDaniel Wells
Dominic DaleChris TottenSimon BlackwellMark Joyce
Dylan EmeryLiu HongyuMostafa DorghamJulien Leclercq

Stage Two

Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
Scott DonaldsonDavid GilbertLong ZehuangMark Williams
Fan ZhengyiStuart BinghamHossein VafeaiBen Woollaston
Thepchaiya Un-NoohHe GuoqiangShaun MurphyStuart Carrington
Chris WakelinAshley CartyJamie JonesSi Jiahui
Group EGroup FGroup GGroup H
Ali CarterDavid LilleyJackson PageMartin O’Donnell
Wu YizeGary WilsonAlexander UrsenbacherJak Jones
Jack LisowskiRyan DayRobbie McGuiganMatthew Stevens
Neil RobertsonJoe O’ConnorMichael WhiteMa Hailong

Stage Three

Final Group 1Final Group 2
Ali CarterJackson Page
Scott DonaldsonDavid Gilbert
Mark WilliamsLong Zehuang
Martin O’DonnellDavid Lilley

Final (bo5)

Ali Carter 3-1 Jackson Page

Featured photo credit: WST

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.