Kyren Wilson
Ranking, Snooker Headlines

Kyren Wilson crashes out of Championship League Snooker

Kyren Wilson went unbeaten in his first outing as world champion but still failed to emerge from Group 1 of Championship League Snooker on Thursday.

The Englishman beat Jak Jones to claim a maiden world title last month at the Crucible Theatre in Sheffield.

In his opening match of the new campaign, Wilson could only manage a 2-2 draw with amateur top-up Daniel Womersley.

Things looked more promising after he secured a 3-0 victory over Baipat Siripaporn, but he needed to beat Scott Donaldson in his remaining round-robin fixture to progress.

The latter had recorded back-to-back 3-0 triumphs against the same opponents and required only a draw from his third match.

When Wilson went in front with a break of 79, it looked like the turnaround could be on the cards.

But Donaldson subsequently made contributions of 88 and 101 to guarantee the point he needed to move into the last 32.

Wilson ended the day with a break of 111, but it was only good enough for second place in the group behind Donaldson, prematurely ending his Championship League Snooker run.

It was much more convincing in Group 14, where Hossein Vafaei dominated proceedings by winning all three of his encounters.

The Iranian surrendered just a single frame across the day as he outplayed Josh Mulholland, Manasawin Phetmalaikul, and Louis Heathcote.

Vafaei’s odds in the outright betting market for the Championship League Snooker winner have been slashed to about 14/1 with most online bookies.

There are many ways to bet on snooker and other sports, with several online bookmakers providing acca bonus offers or boosted odds options after signing up.

On Friday, meanwhile, the action at the Mattioli Arena in Leicester continues with two more groups from Stage One in what is the 2024/25 snooker season’s first ranking event.

China’s Si Jiahui is in Group 13 alongside Jimmy Robertson, Zak Surety, and Peter Lines.

In Group 18, former world champion Stuart Bingham faces Anthony Hamilton, Ahmed Aly Elsayed, and Hamim Hussain.

Thursday, June 20th – Results

Group 1
1. Kyren Wilson 2-2 Daniel Womersley
2. Scott Donaldson 3-0 Baipat Siripaporn
3. Scott Donaldson 3-1 Daniel Womersley
4. Kyren Wilson 3-0 Baipat Siripaporn
5. Daniel Womersley 3-0 Baipat Siripaporn
6. Kyren Wilson 2-2 Scott Donaldson

Group 14
1. Hossein Vafaei 3-0 Josh Mulholland
2. Louis Heathcote 2-2 Manasawin Phetmalaikul
3. Louis Heathcote 3-1 Josh Mulholland
4. Hossein Vafaei 3-1 Manasawin Phetmalaikul
5. Josh Mulholland 3-0 Manasawin Phetmalaikul
6. Hossein Vafaei 3-0 Louis Heathcote

Championship League Snooker
Stage One Draw

Group 1Group 2Group 3Group 4
Scott DonaldsonHe GuoqiangShaun MurphyMark Williams
Kyren WilsonMitchell MannSteven HallworthConnor Benzey
Daniel WomersleyRonnie O’SullivanTian PengfeiDavid Grace
Baipat SiripapornKayden BrierleyReanne EvansFergal Quinn
Group 5Group 6Group 7Group 8
Ali CarterGary WilsonRobbie McGuiganJak Jones
Xing ZihaoJoe PerryBarry PinchesJordan Brown
Joshua ThomandMichael HoltSanderson LamAntoni Kowalski
Kreishh GurbaxaniHuang JiahaoTom FordBulcsú Révész
Group 9Group 10Group 11Group 12
Ma HailongJackson PageRyan DayJack Lisowski
Ben MertensAndrew HigginsonLiam DaviesMark Davis
John HigginsRobert MilkinsHammad MiahJiang Jun
Artemijs ZizinsIulian BoikoMarco FuAnton Kazakov
Group 13Group 14Group 15Group 16
Si JiahuiHossein VafaeiDavid GilbertFan Zhengyi
Peter LinesLouis HeathcoteXu SiAlfie Burden
Zak SuretyJoshua MulhollandDuane JonesMink Nutcharut
Jimmy RobertsonManasawin PhetmalaikulAndrew PagettZhou Yuelong
Group 17Group 18Group 19Group 20
Chris WakelinStuart BinghamLong ZehuangStuart Carrington
Ian BurnsHamim HussainAlfie DaviesPang Junxu
Rory McLeodAnthony HamiltonLei PeifanGong Chenzhi
Liam PullenAhmed Aly ElsayedJamie O’NeillGerard Greene
Group 21Group 22Group 23Group 24
Neil RobertsonJoe O’ConnorMichael WhiteMartin O’Donnell
Cheung Ka WaiAaron HillRyan DaviesRicky Walden
Jamie ClarkeHarvey ChandlerStephen MaguireRory Thor
Zack RichardsonOliver LinesDean YoungUmut Dikme
Group 25Group 26Group 27Group 28
Matthew StevensAlexander UrsenbacherDavid LilleyWu Yize
Farakh AjaibMatthew SeltYuan SijunRoss Muir
Robbie WilliamsGraeme DottLiam GrahamAllan Taylor
Haydon PinheyFlorian NuesslePaul DeavilleJoshua Cooper
Group 29Group 30Group 31Group 32
Ben WoollastonJamie JonesAshley CartyThepchaiya Un-Nooh
Stan MoodyIshpreet Singh ChadhaElliot SlessorDaniel Wells
Dominic DaleChris TottenSimon BlackwellMark Joyce
Dylan EmeryLiu HongyuMostafa DorghamJulien Leclercq

Stage Two

Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
Scott DonaldsonDavid GilbertLong ZehuangMark Williams
Fan ZhengyiStuart BinghamHossein VafeaiBen Woollaston
Thepchaiya Un-NoohHe GuoqiangShaun MurphyStuart Carrington
Chris WakelinAshley CartyJamie JonesSi Jiahui
Group EGroup FGroup GGroup H
Ali CarterDavid LilleyJackson PageMartin O’Donnell
Wu YizeGary WilsonAlexander UrsenbacherJak Jones
Jack LisowskiRyan DayRobbie McGuiganMatthew Stevens
Neil RobertsonJoe O’ConnorMichael WhiteMa Hailong

Stage Three

Final Group 1Final Group 2
Ali CarterJackson Page
Scott DonaldsonDavid Gilbert
Mark WilliamsLong Zehuang
Martin O’DonnellDavid Lilley

Final (bo5)

Ali Carter 3-1 Jackson Page

Featured photo credit: WST


  1. Ger Murphy

    Loved your article about Championship League Snooker, how does it work? Hiw many games have to be won?

    • Each group is played under the normal round-robin format. They play each other once and the top player advances to the next stage. The last two group winners play each other in a final to determine the tournament winner.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.