Si Jiahui
Ranking, Snooker Headlines

Si Jiahui gets his season off to a winning start

Si Jiahui won all three of his round-robin fixtures to prevail in Group 13 of Championship League Snooker on Friday in Leicester.

Last season’s German Masters runner-up got off to a perfect start at the Mattioli Arena by beating Peter Lines 3-0 in his first clash.

Si followed that up with a 3-0 defeat of Zak Surety where he compiled breaks of 82 and 74.

That already guaranteed his spot in Stage Two of the season’s opening ranking event, but he overcame Jimmy Robertson in his remaining encounter for good measure as well.

Si, a World Championship semi-finalist in 2023, has risen into the top 20 in the world rankings and will have aspirations of pushing for a place among the top 16 this term.

In Group 18, Stuart Bingham topped proceedings thanks to a record of two wins and a draw from his three games.

The 2015 world champion squandered a 2-0 advantage in his initial match against Hamim Hussain.

But a 3-0 victory against struggling American Ahmed Aly Elsayed set Bingham up to progress from the group.

A winner-took-all tie with Anthony Hamilton followed, the latter having also accumulated four points from his two affairs against the same opponents.

Bingham duly secured a 3-1 victory over his fellow Englishman to safeguard his place in the last 32.

Championship League Snooker continues on Saturday with two more groups in what has been a very long process to complete Stage One.

Pang Junxu is in Group 20 with the young Chinese competitor set to face Stuart Carrington, Gong Chenzhi, and Gerard Greene.

Group 19 has been affected by withdrawals with Noppon Saengkham pulling out, meaning there are two top-up amateurs involved.

Jamie O’Neill and Alfie Davies join Long Zehuang and Lei Peifan in a quartet that offers a big opportunity for one of them to move to the latter stages of a ranking event.

Friday, June 21st – Results

Group 13
1. Si Jiahui 3-0 Peter Lines
2. Zak Surety 3-1 Jimmy Robertson
3. Peter Lines 3-1 Jimmy Robertson
4. Si Jiahui 3-0 Zak Surety
5. Peter Lines 3-1 Zak Surety
6. Si Jiahui 3-1 Jimmy Robertson

Group 18
1. Stuart Bingham 2-2 Hamim Hussain
2. Anthony Hamilton 3-0 Ahmed Aly Elsayed
3. Anthony Hamilton 2-2 Hamim Hussain
4. Stuart Bingham 3-0 Ahmed Aly Elsayed
5. Hamim Hussain 3-0 Ahmed Aly Elsayed
6. Stuart Bingham 3-1 Anthony Hamilton

Championship League Snooker
Stage One Draw

Group 1Group 2Group 3Group 4
Scott DonaldsonHe GuoqiangShaun MurphyMark Williams
Kyren WilsonMitchell MannSteven HallworthConnor Benzey
Daniel WomersleyRonnie O’SullivanTian PengfeiDavid Grace
Baipat SiripapornKayden BrierleyReanne EvansFergal Quinn
Group 5Group 6Group 7Group 8
Ali CarterGary WilsonRobbie McGuiganJak Jones
Xing ZihaoJoe PerryBarry PinchesJordan Brown
Joshua ThomandMichael HoltSanderson LamAntoni Kowalski
Kreishh GurbaxaniHuang JiahaoTom FordBulcsú Révész
Group 9Group 10Group 11Group 12
Ma HailongJackson PageRyan DayJack Lisowski
Ben MertensAndrew HigginsonLiam DaviesMark Davis
John HigginsRobert MilkinsHammad MiahJiang Jun
Artemijs ZizinsIulian BoikoMarco FuAnton Kazakov
Group 13Group 14Group 15Group 16
Si JiahuiHossein VafaeiDavid GilbertFan Zhengyi
Peter LinesLouis HeathcoteXu SiAlfie Burden
Zak SuretyJoshua MulhollandDuane JonesMink Nutcharut
Jimmy RobertsonManasawin PhetmalaikulAndrew PagettZhou Yuelong
Group 17Group 18Group 19Group 20
Chris WakelinStuart BinghamLong ZehuangStuart Carrington
Ian BurnsHamim HussainAlfie DaviesPang Junxu
Rory McLeodAnthony HamiltonLei PeifanGong Chenzhi
Liam PullenAhmed Aly ElsayedJamie O’NeillGerard Greene
Group 21Group 22Group 23Group 24
Neil RobertsonJoe O’ConnorMichael WhiteMartin O’Donnell
Cheung Ka WaiAaron HillRyan DaviesRicky Walden
Jamie ClarkeHarvey ChandlerStephen MaguireRory Thor
Zack RichardsonOliver LinesDean YoungUmut Dikme
Group 25Group 26Group 27Group 28
Matthew StevensAlexander UrsenbacherDavid LilleyWu Yize
Farakh AjaibMatthew SeltYuan SijunRoss Muir
Robbie WilliamsGraeme DottLiam GrahamAllan Taylor
Haydon PinheyFlorian NuesslePaul DeavilleJoshua Cooper
Group 29Group 30Group 31Group 32
Ben WoollastonJamie JonesAshley CartyThepchaiya Un-Nooh
Stan MoodyIshpreet Singh ChadhaElliot SlessorDaniel Wells
Dominic DaleChris TottenSimon BlackwellMark Joyce
Dylan EmeryLiu HongyuMostafa DorghamJulien Leclercq

Stage Two

Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
Scott DonaldsonDavid GilbertLong ZehuangMark Williams
Fan ZhengyiStuart BinghamHossein VafeaiBen Woollaston
Thepchaiya Un-NoohHe GuoqiangShaun MurphyStuart Carrington
Chris WakelinAshley CartyJamie JonesSi Jiahui
Group EGroup FGroup GGroup H
Ali CarterDavid LilleyJackson PageMartin O’Donnell
Wu YizeGary WilsonAlexander UrsenbacherJak Jones
Jack LisowskiRyan DayRobbie McGuiganMatthew Stevens
Neil RobertsonJoe O’ConnorMichael WhiteMa Hailong

Stage Three

Final Group 1Final Group 2
Ali CarterJackson Page
Scott DonaldsonDavid Gilbert
Mark WilliamsLong Zehuang
Martin O’DonnellDavid Lilley

Final (bo5)

Ali Carter 3-1 Jackson Page

Featured photo credit: WST

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.