John Higgins
Ranking, Snooker Headlines

John Higgins exits Championship League Snooker

John Higgins could only manage third place in Group 9 and was duly dumped out of Championship League Snooker on Monday in Leicester.

The esteemed Scot has won the invitational version of Championship League Snooker four times but will play no further part in this ranking event edition.

Higgins got his 2024/25 snooker season off to a strong start by beating Latvian rookie Artemijs Zizins 3-0 at the Mattioli Arena.

However, a 3-0 defeat to Ben Mertens subsequently put the 49 year-old in a spot of bother that he was ultimately unable to recover from.

Ahead of the third and final round of fixtures, Higgins needed to beat his final opponent Ma Hailong to have a chance of progressing.

But Ma, buoyed by a superb 111 in the opening frame, took a tight third frame to secure what proved to be a vital point.

With Mertens losing to Zizins, a 2-2 draw for the young Chinese competitor safeguarded his place in Stage Two of the competition.

It was close in Group 6 as well, with Gary Wilson going undefeated throughout the day’s play and holding off a stern challenge from fellow Englishman Joe Perry.

Wilson established control of the round-robin phase when he orchestrated a brace of early triumphs over Huang Jianbo and Michael Holt.

Yet Perry managed to accumulate four points against the same opponents, leaving an interesting crunch tie against Wilson to round off the day.

It looked promising for Perry when he won the opening frame with a break of 71, but Wilson responded with the next two to get the single point he needed to advance.

Ronnie O’Sullivan is expected to make his first appearance of the new campaign on Tuesday, meanwhile.

The Rocket is in Group 2 alongside He Guoqiang, Mitchell Mann, and amateur top-up Kayden Brierley.

In Group 12, Jack Lisowski entertains Mark Davis, Jiang Jun, and Anton Kazakov.

Monday, June 24th – Results

Group 6
1. Gary Wilson 3-0 Huang Jiahao
2. Joe Perry 2-2 Michael Holt
3. Joe Perry 3-1 Huang Jianbo
4. Gary Wilson 3-1 Michael Holt
5. Michael Holt 3-1 Huang Jiahao
6. Gary Wilson 2-2 Joe Perry

Group 9
1. John Higgins 3-0 Artemijs Zizins
2. Ma Hailong 2-2 Ben Mertens
3. Ma Hailong 3-0 Artemijs Zizins
4. Ben Mertens 3-0 John Higgins
5. Artemijs Zizins 3-0 Ben Mertens
6. John Higgins 2-2 Ma Hailong

Championship League Snooker
Stage One Draw

Group 1Group 2Group 3Group 4
Scott DonaldsonHe GuoqiangShaun MurphyMark Williams
Kyren WilsonMitchell MannSteven HallworthConnor Benzey
Daniel WomersleyRonnie O’SullivanTian PengfeiDavid Grace
Baipat SiripapornKayden BrierleyReanne EvansFergal Quinn
Group 5Group 6Group 7Group 8
Ali CarterGary WilsonRobbie McGuiganJak Jones
Xing ZihaoJoe PerryBarry PinchesJordan Brown
Joshua ThomandMichael HoltSanderson LamAntoni Kowalski
Kreishh GurbaxaniHuang JiahaoTom FordBulcsú Révész
Group 9Group 10Group 11Group 12
Ma HailongJackson PageRyan DayJack Lisowski
Ben MertensAndrew HigginsonLiam DaviesMark Davis
John HigginsRobert MilkinsHammad MiahJiang Jun
Artemijs ZizinsIulian BoikoMarco FuAnton Kazakov
Group 13Group 14Group 15Group 16
Si JiahuiHossein VafaeiDavid GilbertFan Zhengyi
Peter LinesLouis HeathcoteXu SiAlfie Burden
Zak SuretyJoshua MulhollandDuane JonesMink Nutcharut
Jimmy RobertsonManasawin PhetmalaikulAndrew PagettZhou Yuelong
Group 17Group 18Group 19Group 20
Chris WakelinStuart BinghamLong ZehuangStuart Carrington
Ian BurnsHamim HussainAlfie DaviesPang Junxu
Rory McLeodAnthony HamiltonLei PeifanGong Chenzhi
Liam PullenAhmed Aly ElsayedJamie O’NeillGerard Greene
Group 21Group 22Group 23Group 24
Neil RobertsonJoe O’ConnorMichael WhiteMartin O’Donnell
Cheung Ka WaiAaron HillRyan DaviesRicky Walden
Jamie ClarkeHarvey ChandlerStephen MaguireRory Thor
Zack RichardsonOliver LinesDean YoungUmut Dikme
Group 25Group 26Group 27Group 28
Matthew StevensAlexander UrsenbacherDavid LilleyWu Yize
Farakh AjaibMatthew SeltYuan SijunRoss Muir
Robbie WilliamsGraeme DottLiam GrahamAllan Taylor
Haydon PinheyFlorian NuesslePaul DeavilleJoshua Cooper
Group 29Group 30Group 31Group 32
Ben WoollastonJamie JonesAshley CartyThepchaiya Un-Nooh
Stan MoodyIshpreet Singh ChadhaElliot SlessorDaniel Wells
Dominic DaleChris TottenSimon BlackwellMark Joyce
Dylan EmeryLiu HongyuMostafa DorghamJulien Leclercq

Stage Two

Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
Scott DonaldsonDavid GilbertLong ZehuangMark Williams
Fan ZhengyiStuart BinghamHossein VafeaiBen Woollaston
Thepchaiya Un-NoohHe GuoqiangShaun MurphyStuart Carrington
Chris WakelinAshley CartyJamie JonesSi Jiahui
Group EGroup FGroup GGroup H
Ali CarterDavid LilleyJackson PageMartin O’Donnell
Wu YizeGary WilsonAlexander UrsenbacherJak Jones
Jack LisowskiRyan DayRobbie McGuiganMatthew Stevens
Neil RobertsonJoe O’ConnorMichael WhiteMa Hailong

Stage Three

Final Group 1Final Group 2
Ali CarterJackson Page
Scott DonaldsonDavid Gilbert
Mark WilliamsLong Zehuang
Martin O’DonnellDavid Lilley

Final (bo5)

Ali Carter 3-1 Jackson Page

Featured photo credit: WST


  1. Jay Brannon

    Pleased to hear the Darling of Dublin has been given a fresh invitational tour card. World Snooker claimed to have no hesitation in giving him one but yet waited until the first event was already well underway. It means the Republic of Ireland have two pros on the main tour.

    No great surprise Stephen Hendry turned down his card.

  2. Ger Murphy

    Thanks for the updates.
    Ger Murphy

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.