Ali Carter
Ranking, Snooker Headlines

Ali Carter and Scott Donaldson go through again

Ali Carter won Group E of Championship League Snooker on Saturday to successfully reach the last eight at the Mattioli Arena in Leicester.

The Captain was competing in a three-player group following the withdrawal from the competition of Neil Robertson.

As a result, the format was revised and the players faced off against each other twice each instead of the usual once under the round-robin guise.

Carter duly went undefeated, securing a brace of 3-1 triumphs over Jack Lisowski alongside a couple of 2-2 ties against Wu Yize.

The 44 year-old, who is moving closer to a sixth career ranking title, will be joined in Stage Three by Scott Donaldson.

The latter prevailed from Group A with a record of two victories and a draw.

Donaldson, a former winner of the invitational version of Championship League Snooker, opened his account with a 3-1 triumph over Chris Wakelin.

The Scot then whitewashed Thepchaiya Un-Nooh before a 2-2 tie with Fan Zhengyi guaranteed him top spot in the standings.

Carter and Donaldson join David Gilbert and Long Zehuang, who emerged from Stage Two on Friday, in Wednesday’s final group stage.

Stage Two continues on Monday, meanwhile, with the next couple of groups.

Mark Williams is the highest ranked player left in the tournament and will face Si Jiahui, Ben Woollaston, and Stuart Carrington in Group D.

In Group H, Jak Jones will be in action against Matthew Stevens, Martin O’Donnell, and Ma Hailong.

Saturday, June 29th – Results

Group A
1. Scott Donaldson 3-1 Chris Wakelin
2. Thepchaiya Un-Nooh 2-2 Fan Zhengyi
3. Scott Donaldson 3-0 Thepchaiya Un-Nooh
4. Fan Zhengyi 3-0 Chris Wakelin
5. Fan Zhengyi 2-2 Scott Donaldson
6. Thepchaiya Un-Nooh 3-1 Chris Wakelin

Group E
1. Ali Carter 2-2 Wu Yize
2. Wu Yize 3-0 Jack Lisowski
3. Ali Carter 3-1 Jack Lisowski
4. Wu Yize 2-2 Ali Carter
5. Jack Lisowski 3-0 Wu Yize
6. Ali Carter 3-1 Jack Lisowski

Championship League Snooker
Stage One Draw

Group 1Group 2Group 3Group 4
Scott DonaldsonHe GuoqiangShaun MurphyMark Williams
Kyren WilsonMitchell MannSteven HallworthConnor Benzey
Daniel WomersleyRonnie O’SullivanTian PengfeiDavid Grace
Baipat SiripapornKayden BrierleyReanne EvansFergal Quinn
Group 5Group 6Group 7Group 8
Ali CarterGary WilsonRobbie McGuiganJak Jones
Xing ZihaoJoe PerryBarry PinchesJordan Brown
Joshua ThomandMichael HoltSanderson LamAntoni Kowalski
Kreishh GurbaxaniHuang JiahaoTom FordBulcsú Révész
Group 9Group 10Group 11Group 12
Ma HailongJackson PageRyan DayJack Lisowski
Ben MertensAndrew HigginsonLiam DaviesMark Davis
John HigginsRobert MilkinsHammad MiahJiang Jun
Artemijs ZizinsIulian BoikoMarco FuAnton Kazakov
Group 13Group 14Group 15Group 16
Si JiahuiHossein VafaeiDavid GilbertFan Zhengyi
Peter LinesLouis HeathcoteXu SiAlfie Burden
Zak SuretyJoshua MulhollandDuane JonesMink Nutcharut
Jimmy RobertsonManasawin PhetmalaikulAndrew PagettZhou Yuelong
Group 17Group 18Group 19Group 20
Chris WakelinStuart BinghamLong ZehuangStuart Carrington
Ian BurnsHamim HussainAlfie DaviesPang Junxu
Rory McLeodAnthony HamiltonLei PeifanGong Chenzhi
Liam PullenAhmed Aly ElsayedJamie O’NeillGerard Greene
Group 21Group 22Group 23Group 24
Neil RobertsonJoe O’ConnorMichael WhiteMartin O’Donnell
Cheung Ka WaiAaron HillRyan DaviesRicky Walden
Jamie ClarkeHarvey ChandlerStephen MaguireRory Thor
Zack RichardsonOliver LinesDean YoungUmut Dikme
Group 25Group 26Group 27Group 28
Matthew StevensAlexander UrsenbacherDavid LilleyWu Yize
Farakh AjaibMatthew SeltYuan SijunRoss Muir
Robbie WilliamsGraeme DottLiam GrahamAllan Taylor
Haydon PinheyFlorian NuesslePaul DeavilleJoshua Cooper
Group 29Group 30Group 31Group 32
Ben WoollastonJamie JonesAshley CartyThepchaiya Un-Nooh
Stan MoodyIshpreet Singh ChadhaElliot SlessorDaniel Wells
Dominic DaleChris TottenSimon BlackwellMark Joyce
Dylan EmeryLiu HongyuMostafa DorghamJulien Leclercq

Stage Two

Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
Scott DonaldsonDavid GilbertLong ZehuangMark Williams
Fan ZhengyiStuart BinghamHossein VafeaiBen Woollaston
Thepchaiya Un-NoohHe GuoqiangShaun MurphyStuart Carrington
Chris WakelinAshley CartyJamie JonesSi Jiahui
Group EGroup FGroup GGroup H
Ali CarterDavid LilleyJackson PageMartin O’Donnell
Wu YizeGary WilsonAlexander UrsenbacherJak Jones
Jack LisowskiRyan DayRobbie McGuiganMatthew Stevens
Neil RobertsonJoe O’ConnorMichael WhiteMa Hailong

Stage Three

Final Group 1Final Group 2
Ali CarterJackson Page
Scott DonaldsonDavid Gilbert
Mark WilliamsLong Zehuang
Martin O’DonnellDavid Lilley

Final (bo5)

Ali Carter 3-1 Jackson Page

Featured photo credit: WST

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.