Ali Carter
Finals, Ranking, Snooker Headlines

Ali Carter claims Championship League Snooker ranking title

Ali Carter is the first winner of the new season after emerging victoriously from Championship League Snooker in Leicester on Wednesday.

The Captain beat Jackson Page 3-1 in the final to claim a sixth career ranking title while pocketing a total jackpot worth £33,000.

The final day of a lengthy 21 at the Mattioli Arena began with eight competitors still vying for the 2024/25 campaign’s first trophy.

There were two more group stages played out, with Carter emerging from Final Group 1 thanks to an undefeated record of two wins and a draw.

The Captain whitewashed Scott Donaldson and overcame fourth seed Mark Williams 3-1 either side of a 2-2 tie with Martin O’Donnell.

In Final Group 2, Jackson Page held off former champion David Gilbert on frame difference to reach a maiden ranking event final.

Carter then got off to a clinical start in the title-deciding showdown when he orchestrated a fine run of 116 to take the lead.

Page, still only 22 but for years tipped as a star of the future, responded with a contribution of 83.

But the young Welshman failed to score another point, with Carter compiling breaks of 96 and 50 to seal his latest success on the main tour.

“I got here in the end, I think I’m a stalwart of the Championship League,” Ali Carter, who will receive an invitation to the Champion of Champions, said afterwards.

“I’ve been beaten before in the final of the invitational version to Martin Gould.”

“I’m delighted to get the season off to a great start and pick up another title.

“I’m delighted with how I played in the final. I felt the most comfortable with the most at stake, which is pleasing.

“Jackson is such a great young player with a tonne of potential and was playing great, so I’m delighted to get a victory over one of the young guns.

“It’s great to be involved in another Champion of Champions, I’m not sure how many of those I’ve got left.

“It’s great that I’m playing the best stuff that I’ve ever played. Hopefully there’s a few more big wins still to come.”

Championship League Snooker
Stage One Draw

Group 1Group 2Group 3Group 4
Scott DonaldsonHe GuoqiangShaun MurphyMark Williams
Kyren WilsonMitchell MannSteven HallworthConnor Benzey
Daniel WomersleyRonnie O’SullivanTian PengfeiDavid Grace
Baipat SiripapornKayden BrierleyReanne EvansFergal Quinn
Group 5Group 6Group 7Group 8
Ali CarterGary WilsonRobbie McGuiganJak Jones
Xing ZihaoJoe PerryBarry PinchesJordan Brown
Joshua ThomandMichael HoltSanderson LamAntoni Kowalski
Kreishh GurbaxaniHuang JiahaoTom FordBulcsú Révész
Group 9Group 10Group 11Group 12
Ma HailongJackson PageRyan DayJack Lisowski
Ben MertensAndrew HigginsonLiam DaviesMark Davis
John HigginsRobert MilkinsHammad MiahJiang Jun
Artemijs ZizinsIulian BoikoMarco FuAnton Kazakov
Group 13Group 14Group 15Group 16
Si JiahuiHossein VafaeiDavid GilbertFan Zhengyi
Peter LinesLouis HeathcoteXu SiAlfie Burden
Zak SuretyJoshua MulhollandDuane JonesMink Nutcharut
Jimmy RobertsonManasawin PhetmalaikulAndrew PagettZhou Yuelong
Group 17Group 18Group 19Group 20
Chris WakelinStuart BinghamLong ZehuangStuart Carrington
Ian BurnsHamim HussainAlfie DaviesPang Junxu
Rory McLeodAnthony HamiltonLei PeifanGong Chenzhi
Liam PullenAhmed Aly ElsayedJamie O’NeillGerard Greene
Group 21Group 22Group 23Group 24
Neil RobertsonJoe O’ConnorMichael WhiteMartin O’Donnell
Cheung Ka WaiAaron HillRyan DaviesRicky Walden
Jamie ClarkeHarvey ChandlerStephen MaguireRory Thor
Zack RichardsonOliver LinesDean YoungUmut Dikme
Group 25Group 26Group 27Group 28
Matthew StevensAlexander UrsenbacherDavid LilleyWu Yize
Farakh AjaibMatthew SeltYuan SijunRoss Muir
Robbie WilliamsGraeme DottLiam GrahamAllan Taylor
Haydon PinheyFlorian NuesslePaul DeavilleJoshua Cooper
Group 29Group 30Group 31Group 32
Ben WoollastonJamie JonesAshley CartyThepchaiya Un-Nooh
Stan MoodyIshpreet Singh ChadhaElliot SlessorDaniel Wells
Dominic DaleChris TottenSimon BlackwellMark Joyce
Dylan EmeryLiu HongyuMostafa DorghamJulien Leclercq

Stage Two

Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
Scott DonaldsonDavid GilbertLong ZehuangMark Williams
Fan ZhengyiStuart BinghamHossein VafeaiBen Woollaston
Thepchaiya Un-NoohHe GuoqiangShaun MurphyStuart Carrington
Chris WakelinAshley CartyJamie JonesSi Jiahui
Group EGroup FGroup GGroup H
Ali CarterDavid LilleyJackson PageMartin O’Donnell
Wu YizeGary WilsonAlexander UrsenbacherJak Jones
Jack LisowskiRyan DayRobbie McGuiganMatthew Stevens
Neil RobertsonJoe O’ConnorMichael WhiteMa Hailong

Stage Three

Final Group 1Final Group 2
Ali CarterJackson Page
Scott DonaldsonDavid Gilbert
Mark WilliamsLong Zehuang
Martin O’DonnellDavid Lilley

Final (bo5)

Ali Carter 3-1 Jackson Page

Featured photo credit: CLS

One Comment

  1. Jamie Brannon

    95 centuries during the event. Mark Williams and Dave Gilbert made the most with five each.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.