Mark Selby beats Jimmy White

New Quiz: Players Championship Event Winners

It’s been a pleasant few weeks off from the baize but the return is imminent with the Riga Open taking place in Latvia next week.

HINT: This man has won 6! - photo courtesy of Monique Limbos.
HINT: This man has won 6! – photo courtesy of Monique Limbos.

The Riga Open is one of nine Players Championship series events to be pencilled in so far for this season across both the European and Asian Tours.

The influx of new events at the outset of the Barry Hearn era in 2010 relied heavily on what were then referred to as PTCs, which shortened formats and packed schedules into quick four-day competition bursts.

With further changes to the calendar imminent, this season could be the last for the Players Championship as we know it, but it certainly served a great purpose in providing currently active professionals more earning power and budding amateurs the opportunity to pit their wits against the sport’s best.

It also brought snooker to unfamiliar territories, often with immense success in terms of crowd numbers, such as Germany, Poland, Belgium, Bulgaria, and more.

There have been 26 players who have got their hands on a Players Championship tournament trophy at least once.

The question is, can you name them?

Click here to take the quiz.


No Comments

  1. Pingback: New Quiz: Countries to Host Players Championship Events | SnookerHQ

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.