Irish Snooker, News

Q Club Conquers All-Ireland Championship Again

Q Club Wicklow won the All-Ireland Club Championship on Sunday at the Gleneagle Hotel in Killarney.

Q Club Wicklow. Photo credit: Derek Kiely

The Club Championship is one of the most highly anticipated competitions on the Irish amateur calendar, with an enjoyable but competitive few days of action the norm in Kerry toward the conclusion of the first month of the year.

The final between Q Club and Terry Rogers SC from Dublin was a keenly fought affair which could have went either way.

Needing to win three out of the five games to gain glory, Q Club led 2-1 with both remaining fixtures level at two frames apiece in a race to three.

In a nail-biting climax, player of the tournament Keith Sheldreck potted the winning balls to ensure a 3-1 overall triumph for the reigning Leinster champions.

Michael Judge, Robert Murphy, Jason Watson, and Mark Owens joined Sheldreck on the winners’ podium as Q Club claimed the title for the third time in four years.

The B Championship was won by Cookies from Derry.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

World Rankings Top 16

World Rankings after the World Snooker Championship – won by Mark Selby.

1. Judd Trump
2. Mark Selby
3. Ronnie O’Sullivan
4. Neil Robertson
5. Shaun Murphy
6. Kyren Wilson
7. John Higgins
8. Ding Junhui
9. Stephen Maguire
10. Yan Bingtao
11. Mark Williams
12. Mark Allen
13. Barry Hawkins
14. Jack Lisowski
15. Stuart Bingham
16. Anthony McGill

Fin Ruane Snooker Academy