Judd Trump Makes Maximum 147 in China

Judd Trump compiled a 147 break during his last 16 China Open victory over Tian Pengfei on Thursday.

Trump will play either Rory McLeod or Hossein Vafaei Ayouri in the quarter-finals. Photo credit: Lewis Ward

The defending champion recorded the feat in the fifth frame of a 5-3 triumph which sends the Englishman into the quarter-finals in Beijing.

It marks Trump’s third career maximum break and first since 2015 when he last constructed the perfect frame at the German Masters.

The 147 also represents the 130th century break in professional competition, and as the twelfth of the season it surpasses the previous record for a single campaign of 11 set during the 2011/12 term.

Trump stands to pocket a bonus of £30,000 prize money for his achievement, should the break not be matched, and an additional £2,000 for the highest break award.

You can watch the break below in all its glory, with most enjoyable Russian (I think!) commentary to boot.

Elsewhere, Shaun Murphy beat Michael White 5-1 to set up a clash with Mark Williams, who launched a magnificent comeback against old foe John Higgins to keep his hopes of an automatic Crucible berth alive.

Williams trailed the Scot 4-1 but fought back with breaks of 66, 60, and a steely 79 in the decider to maintain his quest of lifting a fourth China Open crown and leap back into the top 16 in the world rankings.

Later today, Mark Selby, Ding Junhui, and Stuart Bingham continue their progress in the penultimate ranking event of the season.

No Comments

  1. Pingback: China Open: Quarter-Final Preview – SnookerHQ

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

World Rankings Top 16

World Rankings after the British Open – won by Mark Williams.

1. Mark Selby
2. Judd Trump
3. Ronnie O’Sullivan
4. Neil Robertson
5. Kyren Wilson
6. Shaun Murphy
7. John Higgins
8. Mark Williams
9. Stephen Maguire
10. Ding Junhui
11. Mark Allen
12. Barry Hawkins
13. Stuart Bingham
14. Jack Lisowski
15. Yan Bingtao
16. Anthony McGill

Fin Ruane Snooker Academy