Joe Swail Beats Jack Lisowski in India

Joe Swail produced his best result in a long while as he came from behind to edge Jack Lisowski 4-3 in the last 64 of the Indian Open on Thursday.

The veteran Northern Irishman, who famously twice reached the World Championship semi-finals two decades ago, is into the last 32 of a ranking event for only the second time this season.

Lisowski had been one of the favourites for the title as one of the highest ranked players in a weakened field in Kochi.

But Joe Swail, no.88 in the world rankings and in danger of dropping off the Main Tour, battled in trademark fashion to set up a clash with Matthew Selt in the next round.

Elsehwere, top seeds John Higgins and Shaun Murphy advanced with victories over Welsh pair Duane Jones and Lee Walker respectively.

Both former world champions have suffered from fairly disappointing campaigns and will be looking to find form ahead of the crucial season finale.

The standout moment of the second day came from Zhou Yuelong, the Chinese 21 year-old firing in a magnificent maximum break – the first of his professional career.

The achievement proved only enough to win him a single frame, though, as Lyu Haotian edged his countryman in a decider.

Meanwhile, Thepchaiya Un-Nooh followed up his maiden ranking event success in Watford last week with an early victory over Michael Holt – the same player he beat to triumph in the Snooker Shoot-Out on Sunday.

Other notable wins included Luca Brecel’s 4-0 drubbing of Ian Burns and Peter Ebdon’s 4-3 victory over Ben Woollaston.

Elliot Slessor caused one of the other upsets when he pipped the in-form David Gilbert by the odd frame while Andy Hicks and Luke Simmonds, two amateurs invited as top-ups, denied Chinese duo Li Yuan and Mei Xiwen any further participation.

There was some joy for the contingent from China, though, with the ever-improving Zhao Xintong and Yuan Sijun recorded triumphs over Sam Baird and Thor Chuan Leong respectively.

Among the others to remain in the competition were Anthony Hamilton, Mark Davis, Hossein Vafaei, and Scott Donaldson – who hammered European Masters champion Jimmy Robertson with a whitewash display.

Live coverage continues on the Eurosport Player

Click here to view the Indian Open draw (Times: CET)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.