snooker player of the year
Snooker Headlines

Judd Trump Named Snooker Player of the Year

The Englishman was a consistent presence at the business end of tournaments all year.

Judd Trump has been named the WST Player of the Year for the third consecutive time after another prolific snooker season in 2020/21.

Trump won five ranking titles across the campaign – the English Open, Northern Ireland Open, World Grand Prix, German Masters, and the Gibraltar Open – and he was also runner-up in two other events while maintaining his position at the top of the world rankings.

The 31-year-old from Bristol was first named Player of the Year in 2019 after winning the Masters and the World Championship, and he scooped the award again in 2020 after capturing a record six ranking titles in a single season.

Trump additionally wins the Fans’ Player of the Year award, voted by snooker supporters on the World Snooker Tour App and on social media platforms in China.

Mark Selby won the Snooker Journalists’ Player of the Year award, voted by media around the world who cover snooker.

Selby won the World Championship for the fourth time and also landed the European Masters and Scottish Open titles, climbing to second in the world rankings.

Leicester’s Selby also won the Performance of the Year award for his tremendous display at the World Championship where he beat Shaun Murphy 18-15 in a superb final at the Crucible.

Magic Moment of the Year went to Neil Robertson for his dramatic 10-9 win over Trump in the UK Championship final, with Robertson potting the final pink in a thrilling deciding frame to clinch the title for the third time.

China’s 21-year-old Pang Junxu won Rookie of the Year following an impressive debut season which included runs to the last 16 of three ranking events.

The Snooker Hall of Fame received two additions – Judd Trump, who has now won 22 rankings titles, and the late Brandon Parker.

Parker made a tremendous contribution to snooker for over 20 years as a manager of players, promoter of events, and as a WST director.

He was particularly influential in the growth of snooker in Germany and throughout continental Europe.

WST Awards: 2020/21 winners

Player of the Year – Judd Trump

Fans’ Player of the Year – Judd Trump

Snooker Journalists’ Player of the Year – Mark Selby

Performance of the Year – Mark Selby

Rookie of the Year – Pang Junxu

Magic Moment of the Year – Neil Robertson

Hall of Fame: Judd Trump, Brandon Parker

Featured photo credit: WST

One Comment

  1. Jamie Brannon

    Jordan Brown highly unfortunate not to win Magic Moment of the Year. His victory was possibly the most unlikely in any major tournament we’ve witnessed. A black ball finish in a major final is extremely rare, though.

    I’d probably agree with Selby winning Performance of the Year due to the sheer significance of the World Championship, and his game was functioning in all departments over an event incomparable for length and pressure. However, John Higgins’ standard throughout the Player’s Championship was utterly incredible given the quality of opposition and his sheer dominance in every match.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.