Q School
Amateur Snooker, Main News

Q School Ends with Six More Earning Professional Cards

A total of 14 players have been awarded Main Tour spots.

Q School wrapped up its 2021 edition on Sunday with the remaining professional cards successfully earned at the Ponds Forge International Sports Centre in Sheffield.

Ian Burns, Duane Jones, and Lei Peifan all managed to ensure their immediate return to the Main Tour after being among the last four standing in Event 3.

Jones and Lei would have been safe regardless of their outcome in the final round thanks to their high standing on the separate Order of Merit list, but they made doubly sure with respective victories against Si Jiahui and Billy Castle.

Burns ensured that his stint as a professional player also continues with a 4-1 last-round triumph against Mark Lloyd, guaranteeing that his current run on the Main Tour will extend beyond a decade.

Meanwhile, Scottish teenager Dean Young was the fourth player from Q School Event 3 to safeguard a professional card, beating Haydon Pinhey 4-1 in his last encounter.

The quartet of qualifiers join the competitors from the first two Q School tournaments who emerged as 2021 graduates.

Peter Lines, Fraser Patrick, Jackson Page, and Yuan Sijun progressed from Event 1 while Barry Pinches, Michael Judge, Alfie Burden, and Craig Steadman were the winners from Event 2.

The Order of Merit table rewarded the consistency from the players who performed well throughout the 18 days of action but ultimately fell short of an automatic pick.

Jones and Lei topped the standings, meaning the two available qualification places will be granted to English duo Hammad Miah and Mitchell Mann.

All 14 players will receive fresh two-year tour cards for the 2021/22 and 2022/23 seasons, starting in the rankings from the bottom and with zero points.

The likes of Sanderson Lam, Michael Georgiou, and Michael White missed out on the Order of Merit by only a few points, but they will have the likely bonus of being among the first top-ups for ranking events throughout the 2021/22 campaign.

The first tournament of the new term is scheduled for July with the return of the Championship League in Leicester.

Featured photo credit: WPBSA


  1. Jamie Brannon

    That means Dean Young is the only card winner to have not played on the tour before.

  2. Pingback: 122 Professional Players for 2021/22 Snooker Season - SnookerHQ

  3. Pingback: 122 Profispieler für die Snookersaison 2021/22 - Nach Welt

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.