2023 Champion of Champions
Main News, Non-Ranking

Qualifying criteria set for 2023 Champion of Champions

Ronnie O’Sullivan and Luca Brecel are among the players already guaranteed an invitation to the 2023 Champion of Champions.

The prestigious tournament will return to Bolton for a third consecutive year this season, taking place between November 13 and 19.

As usual, there will be 16 places up for grabs at the University of Bolton Stadium, selected from the various event winners across the previous 12-month span.

World number one O’Sullivan is assured of his spot in 2023 after winning the Champion of Champions last year for a record fourth time.

The Rocket beat Judd Trump 10-6 in the final to add to his previous glories in the competition in 2013, 2014, and 2018.

Brecel’s incredible World Snooker Championship success at the start of May has also landed him a ticket for the fifth time in his career.

There are 26 possible avenues on the qualifying schedule for the 2023 Champion of Champions with many already filled during the second half of last season.

Among the others to have safeguarded their spots are Trump, Mark Allen, Mark Selby, and Shaun Murphy.

Trump triumphed in the Masters at the start of the year, while Allen can rely on his victories in both the UK Championship and the World Grand Prix.

Selby’s brace at the English Open and the WST Classic and Murphy’s lucrative pair of wins at the Players and Tour Championships have sealed their positions as well.

Elsewhere, John Higgins will maintain his record of having participated in every Champion of Champions since its return to the calendar in 2013.

In March, the Scot won the invitational version of the Championship League – an event that is, like the Champion of Champions, promoted by Matchroom Sport.

Ali Carter (German Masters), Robert Milkins (Welsh Open), and Gary Wilson (Scottish Open) are definitely going to be involved later this year too.

It means there are six places at the 2023 Champion of Champions still up for grabs.

Women’s world champion Baipat Siripaporn, world seniors champion Jimmy White, Shoot Out king Chris Wakelin, and six red world champion Ding Junhui are in line to qualify as things stand.

But their presence will ultimately depend on tournament results between now and November.

There are eight events where champions are still to be crowned, so they will be desperately hoping for several repeat winners.

Two-time Champion of Champions winner Neil Robertson, Mark Williams, Kyren Wilson, and Jack Lisowski are some of the star players who still need to obtain silverware in order to gain an invitation.

Qualifying Criteria

The first 16 different winners on this list will qualify for the 2023 Champion of Champions.
(Q) = already qualified.
TBD = to be determined.

No.EventPlayer (winner of event)
12022 Champion of ChampionsRonnie O’Sullivan (Q)
22022 UK ChampionshipMark Allen (Q)
32023 The MastersJudd Trump (Q)
42023 World ChampionshipLuca Brecel (Q)
No.EventPlayer (winner of event)
52023 World Grand PrixMark Allen
62023 German MastersAli Carter (Q)
72023 Players ChampionshipShaun Murphy (Q)
82023 CLS (invitational)John Higgins (Q)
92023 WST ClassicMark Selby (Q)
102023 Tour ChampionshipShaun Murphy
112023 CLS (ranking)champion TBD
122023 European Masterschampion TBD
132023 Wuhan Openchampion TBD
No.EventPlayer (winner of event)
142023 International Championshipchampion TBD
152022 Scottish OpenGary Wilson (Q)
162022 English OpenMark Selby
172023 Welsh OpenRobert Milkins (Q)
182023 English Openchampion TBD
192023 Northern Ireland Openchampion TBD
202023 British Openchampion TBD
No.EventPlayer (winner of event)
212023 Women’s World ChampionshipBaipat Siripaporn
222023 World Championship Runner-upMark Selby
232023 Shanghai Masterschampion TBD
242023 World Seniors ChampionshipJimmy White
252023 Snooker Shoot OutChris Wakelin
262023 Six Red World ChampionshipDing Junhui

Featured photo credit: ChampOfChamps

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.