Irish Snooker, News

Irish Quintet into Knockouts at European Championship

All five Irish contenders have reached the last 64 of the European Amateur Championship after the round-robin phase concluded on Thursday in Cyprus.

Ireland European Championship
Can one of them go the distance? Photo credit: RIBSA

Brendan O’Donoghue, Michael Judge, and John Farrell each impressed with a 100% record from their group ties.

O’Donoghue, who is ranked first domestically on the RIBSA calendar, didn’t even lose a frame as he coasted into the knockout stages as the second seed.

Judge, meanwhile, scored the heaviest of anybody from the early exchanges with a brace of centuries and nine further runs above 60.

The 42 year-old has been drawn into the top quarter to play Frenchman Niel Vincent, while fellow Dubliner Philip Browne is also in the same bracket.

Browne suffered a solitary defeat to Northern Ireland’s Jordan Brown in the group stage but two wins were sufficient to comfortably see him qualify.

In-form TJ Dowling, meanwhile, similarly lost once – to Malta’s Brian Cini – but a hat-trick of victories proved more than enough for the national champion.

If O’Donoghue and Dowling emerge unscathed from their first knockout clash they will set up a blockbuster battle between the top two ranked players from Ireland.

Farrell is in the same bracket as well, with Welshman Nathan Davenport the next opponent for the 44 year-old.

Competition will be stiff for the remainder of the event with the likes of Jamie Clarke, Peter Lines, Adam Stefanow, Declan Brennan, and Andrew Pagett among those still in contention.

Play continues until Sunday.

Click here for more information. 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

World Rankings Top 16

World Rankings after the Snooker Shoot Out – won by Hossein Vafaei.

1. Mark Selby
2. Judd Trump
3. Ronnie O’Sullivan
4. Neil Robertson
5. Kyren Wilson
6. John Higgins
7. Shaun Murphy
8. Mark Williams
9. Zhao Xintong
10. Stephen Maguire
11. Barry Hawkins
12. Stuart Bingham
13. Mark Allen
14. Anthony McGill
15. Yan Bingtao
16. Luca Brecel

Fin Ruane Snooker Academy